Activity

  • Not having LOS as a rationale for not being able to charge from a transport is a player interpretation, not a stated part of the rule.  While the one off allowance for Tiger fear undermines the player’s mental justification for a number of rules, it doesn’t actually change any of them except Tiger Fear.

     

  • Potentially controversial question – those of a gentle disposition please look away now.

    I believe that with the FAQ on Tiger Fear that the knock on effect is that a Japanese unit can Banzai into close combat from inside a transit. Whilst the main rulebook states an assault cannot happen from a transport, the Banzai rule is where a unit ordered…[Read more]

  • Mark G replied to the topic Rules Questions in the forum Bolt Action 1 year, 10 months ago

    Thanks Nat will pass the message on.

  • Nat replied to the topic Rules Questions in the forum Bolt Action 1 year, 10 months ago

    Small arms NEVER get damage modifiers against armour (DV7+ vehicles)

    Only heavy weapons (ie those with a PEN value of at least +1) get to use those modifiers.

  • Mark G replied to the topic Rules Questions in the forum Bolt Action 1 year, 10 months ago

    Thanks for the clarification.

    The other issue that came up and caused some confusion on one of the other tables related to Stuarts.

    These are 8+ vehicles and have the special rule of Vulnerable. So the question was when shooting at the side of this tank the armor value is effectively 6+ (-1 for side and additional -1 for Vulnerable, or even 5+…[Read more]

  • All firing of the transport’s weapons is on the transport’s order. The passenger’s order is irrelevant, they just need to be present (though weapons fired by the passengers will be affected by their experience and pins).

  • Mark G replied to the topic Rules Questions in the forum Bolt Action 1 year, 10 months ago

    Can someone please clarify the rules around passenger operated weapons on transports for me as had some confusion in a game I played recently.

    Page 37  Orders Phase point 2 – Once a Unit has been given a order it cannot be given another order that turn.

    Additionally Page 39 Rally and Down orders – The unit does not move or fire.

    Therefore if a…[Read more]

  • Thanks for the answer.

    I guess the Panzer 38 is flagged Hungarian in the Websters because it’s usable in some Theater Selectors.

    Some web articles and Easy Army also confused me

  • Nat replied to the topic Hungarian Panzer 38t in the forum Bolt Action 1 year, 10 months ago

    FAQ pg 30
    [quote]
    New Units
    These books occasionally introduce new units without the accompanying text explaining in which selectors they can be used.
    As a general guidance in these cases, unless the rules in the unit’s entry say otherwise, new units in these books are limited to use for scenarios and selectors from that book only. Unless of c…[Read more]

  • Stupid question:

    Can the Hungarians take a Panzer 38 without using the Axis Support rules?

    For instance, could I put one in a Generic Platoon using the Case Blue national rules

    I’m getting conflicting info on this

    Thanks

  • Brett,

    As a fellow Aussie I feel you pain, I don’t buy my figs anymore I print them. The distributor here in AUD treats as if we are mugs (and we aren’t 40K players) 🙂

    Warlords need to stop treating AUD and NZ like it’s treasure island. I have a whole DoW 1812 army ready to print from a great graphic artist. The figs and poses are better than…[Read more]

  • Artillery barrage radius is a distance not a template, and all distances for artillery are measured to/from the centre of the gun (the breech) as per p93, Artillery, Artillery and Measuring Distances.

  • Nat replied to the topic Heavy Cruiser Zara in the forum Victory At Sea 1 year, 10 months ago

    My guess is that it was a typo (theres enough in the stats….dont even get me started on the points!) and rather than admit that as thats quite a large can of worms (as said theres a number of them) just like the Bismark cost…. they went with whats printed and tried to justify it.

    One of the historical contributors is on the FB group ‘the…[Read more]

  • Troy replied to the topic Rules Questions in the forum Bolt Action 1 year, 10 months ago

    Hey artillery garage has an explosion radius of 7 in is that seven inches have to touch the breach of a artillery piece or a crew member?

  • Devlen Duncan changed their profile picture 1 year, 10 months ago

  • Being historical sources say the Zara class was heavily armored compared to most other nations equivalent cruisers wouldn’t a 4+ make sense or at least 3+. I’m curious how that historic fact translated into such a weak armor rating in the developers minds.

  • Nat replied to the topic Heavy Cruiser Zara in the forum Victory At Sea 1 year, 10 months ago

    In Mongoose v1 it had 4+
    in the v2 beta it had 4+

    In the published book is has 2+

    The FAQ doesnt say it was garbage just says ‘we were right in the printed version’…. its more that WL do come down on the side of Rules as Written in their FAQ answers rather than put errata entries in.  (ok they have when they swapped the two cruiser costs…[Read more]

  • At one point the Zara class cruisers had a 4+ save. It is now 2+. I know it was explained additional research showed their armor was garbage.
    That being said, every source I’ve read states the Zara’s had heavy armor, better than that of most other nations. Yet someone decided 2+? What am I missing here?

  • Greetings. I see this is an older post, but I’m new here so it’s new to me. I just looked at the Chinese infantry figures for Korea, and see that they have leggings. Perhaps the Japanese plastics could be used for infantry to bulk out Chinese units. That’s what I did with my Nationalist Chinese troops. The issue I see with Korea is the caps – they…[Read more]

  • Ted J became a registered member 1 year, 10 months ago

  • Load More