Banzai from transport

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action Banzai from transport

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #189776
    MattT
    Participant

    Potentially controversial question – those of a gentle disposition please look away now.

    I believe that with the FAQ on Tiger Fear that the knock on effect is that a Japanese unit can Banzai into close combat from inside a transit. Whilst the main rulebook states an assault cannot happen from a transport, the Banzai rule is where a unit ordered to run towards the closest visible enemy unit.  So, as the FAQ on Tiger Fear states units are visible from units within a vehicle. Then clearly the Banzai unit can run – and contact – an enemy unit as the move is not an “assault” but a Banzai run (semantics I know).

    I’m actually to happy to accept either outcome because whilst rules as written it cannot be done, the national rule coupled with the FAQ seems to supersede the main rulebook.

    Thoughts?

    #189777
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    Not having LOS as a rationale for not being able to charge from a transport is a player interpretation, not a stated part of the rule.  While the one off allowance for Tiger fear undermines the player’s mental justification for a number of rules, it doesn’t actually change any of them except Tiger Fear.

     

    #189779
    Nat
    Participant

    Further to  Stuarts comment… It goes against the written rule to allow Banzai to assault…. irrespective of the WHY, the rule is clear, NO assaults from a transport.  There has to be an EXPLICT rule saying this rule allows these models to assault from a transport to  over ride the rulebook and allow it….

    Section – Dismounting from a transport (sorry only have a ebook to pdf version so no page number)
    [quote]it is not allowed to use this move to make an assault upon an enemy in the same turn, [/quote]

    • This reply was modified 2 months, 3 weeks ago by Nat.
    #189782
    MattT
    Participant

    The visibility from transport has just been changed in the Feb 2024 FAQ. Previously you could see out based on Sept 2022 FAq.This is now a moot point. However, just want to say there are cases where national rules or a character isticoverwrite core rules. For example Fanatic meaning a unit doesn’t test morale when losing half of its models.

    as mentioned it was a rather speculative question but now moot.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.