Nat

Activity

  • Nat replied to the topic HQ unique? in the forum Bolt Action 1 week ago

    Each platoon must have a junior field officer (lieutant) and can have a senior field officer (captain or Major)…. yes this means you could have 2 majors in 2 platoons…. :

     

    Its only the characters who are limited to 1 per army (and they are all in the top secret call out boxes and are opponents consent)

     

    0
  • If you look at most of the Napoleonic army lists they dont have howitzer entries so I would say they are factored in &  the 2-2-2 is for a full howitzer battery only

    0
  • Yeah WL could do with a proof reader who plays the games!… And all 3 books could do with a V2 revamp with some more consistancy across all of them (why is it -8 points to down grade in Clash but half points in AT 1&2?) why do horse artillery go from being light smothbore guns in AT1 to being just smoothbore artillery in AT2? etc etc

    0
  • The blurb /writting about deploying as half batterys is the background /historical reasoning behind being able to take half batterys in your list.

    The half battery option is for downgrading the unit when you purchase them, ie you are buying a small battery instead of a normal sized one.  (which is why in CofE lists they are written as ‘downgrade…[Read more]

    0
  • Nat started the topic VaS Rules release in the forum Victory At Sea 1 week, 4 days ago

    Wargames Illustrated September issue will have a FREE copy of the Victory at Sea rules.  The same book as is in the two player box.

     

    Source the WI Prime unpacking of Victory at Sea video on YouTube

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Units on transport in the forum Bolt Action 1 week, 4 days ago

    Yes  is would be option B….. if you rolled 4,1,1, then it could be B or A (depending on how you read the massive damage paragraph!).   If you rolled a 1 for the pen hit & then a 4 +1  it would be forced disembarked with 2 PINs

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Rules Questions in the forum Blood Red Skies 1 week, 4 days ago

    Hi Bill,

    As the tailed plan is made disadvantaged (and not just counted as being disadvantaged) at the end of the attackers movement step, they then get to make their ‘defensive tactics’ move.  When the next step of the activation comes round (the pilot action) the defender is still  disadvantaged….the benifet of the card its to make the shot a…[Read more]

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Units on transport in the forum Bolt Action 1 week, 6 days ago

    no you havent got wrong… its 1 pin per firing unit…. unless the firing unit has HE or a flamethrower in which case those pins will take precidence.

    ie 5 rifles will be 1 pin

    5 rifles and a rifle grenade will be D2 pins

    5 rifles and a flamethrower will be D6+1 pins

     

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Units on transport in the forum Bolt Action 1 week, 6 days ago

    picture attached… cant quote page number as I’m looking at an ebook version… but it says roll once, apply then roll again (unless the vehicle is destroyed by the first result, of course)

    Ok the same paragraph then goes on to look like its contradicting its self by saying roll two dice and apply both results…….can we get some proof readers…[Read more]

    0
  • 1) Each brigade needs to have an individual commander

    2) As you pointed out there are options within V2 for your General to be just another Brigade commander – just with the posiblity of being a higher staff rateing -note how prussians cant have a SR 7 brigade commander….

    3)As per the  BPv2 General Viarent  you mentioned (warrior General pg 1…[Read more]

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Units on transport in the forum Bolt Action 1 week, 6 days ago

    @stuart – its in the massive damage rules… ok I’ve paraphrased it as I typed that from memory 🙁  how ever as I said in #179522 you cant have a rule that says roll 2 damage and apply both unles the 1st is destroyed and then have another one that says roll X damage and apply all of them because the X damage came from 2 separte weapons

    Also -…[Read more]

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Units on transport in the forum Bolt Action 1 week, 6 days ago

    But wouldnt ‘passenger affected as normal’ just mean that they follow the normal vehicle destroyed rules?

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Units on transport in the forum Bolt Action 1 week, 6 days ago

    So we have in the instructions for massive damage this quote “(unless the vehicle is destroyed by the first result, of course)”

    So if I get to apply 2 resutls unless its destroyed why would I be able to roll all D6 +1 flamerthower damage hits even if (for example) the first one destroys the vehicle?

     

    Now my under standing is shooting V…[Read more]

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Units on transport in the forum Bolt Action 1 week, 6 days ago

    @nI know – good point I never said anything about order of resolution 😛

     

    @stuart…except the part of the rules that literally says don’t apply anymore damage results and remove the vehicle as soon as you get a damage result!

     

     

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Rules Questions in the forum Blood Red Skies 1 week, 6 days ago

    Hi bill, no it doesn’t affect the hand size… it is just removed from the deck before the game starts so you start with one fewer card.

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Rules Questions in the forum Blood Red Skies 1 week, 6 days ago

    If you download the faq or read the updated rules in air strike you’ll find a dirgam that shows you -yes the front arrow must be in the rear arc to get tailing

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Units on transport in the forum Bolt Action 2 weeks ago

    No the unit is NOT hit by the weapon that hits the transport vehicle… they are hit by sharpnel and debris of the vehicle.   THis is why you get get PEN bonus to the wound rolls.  Source is the FAQ.

     

    As they are not hit by the flamethrower but rather the vehicle they where inside they only test if they lose 50%

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic 1809 French in the forum Black Powder 2 weeks ago

    sorry only seem to have posted half of what I was going to say!

     

    The extrapulation (as I dont have the peninuslar box either) is that they are made to fit WLs rules… that is a battalion of 24 models with 4 grenadiers, 4 voltiguers and a command group as thats what the pictures on the store show (which seem to be pretty accurate)

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic 1809 French in the forum Black Powder 2 weeks, 1 day ago

    Warlord late war Battalions are 24 single piece models, with pack and heads separate  8 which had epaulettes.  There are multiple different Shakos

    0
  • Nat replied to the topic Rules Question Thread in the forum Black Powder 2 weeks, 3 days ago

    That makes sense, however in the Clash of Eagles light infantry do have the special note – skirmish – yet you also have Russians Line Units with the rule ‘poor skirmisher’ which states that they dont benefit from the +1 bonus for skirmishers shooting…. when they can only do that in mixed formation (Russians dont have the option to form compisite…[Read more]

    0
  • Load More