Rules Questions

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action Rules Questions

Viewing 15 posts - 451 through 465 (of 476 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #167681
    Rene
    Participant

    Question about Transports

    A) a German Goliath is Just a marker , so it doesnt count towards the transport capacity ?

    B) mortars or heavy mortars are also Just markers and so dont count towards the transport capacity ?

    #167686
    Greg S
    Participant

    That’s correct. Only the crew count, as they are considered ‘infantry’.

    #167839
    Nick
    Participant

    This question arose recently. Does an officers morale bonus only work if units are near him at beginning of turn. Or can an officer move to get in range of an other wise out of range unit.
    I am not referring to snap to orders.
    Thanks
    Nick

    • This reply was modified 3 years, 5 months ago by Nick.
    #167843
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    Range is checked at the time the testing unit is making the test. If the officer model is within range when the unit is making the order test, or when they are forced to take a morale check, his morale bonus applies. If he was in range at the start of the turn but one (or both) has moved putting him out of range when you need him, too bad.

    #167878
    Greg S
    Participant

    Moving yopur officer first to help that pinned unit that you want to act with is a very useful tactic.

    #168459
    Greg Dryanski
    Participant

    Can a unit with recon that has not yet moved use an evade move in response to a unit using a Sudden Charge (less than 6″ charge distance)?

    #168466
    Master Chief
    Participant

    Page 119 of Bolt Action 2nd Ed rulebook:

    When an enemy unit declares an assault against a recce vehicle that has taken no action yet that turn, the vehicle may react with an escape as described above. If the recce vehicle decides not to escape, then it can react by shooting at the assaulting unit (if allowed to do so), as normal. After the escape move is done, measure the range from the assaulting unit. If the unit is out of range, the assaulting unit must simply run towards the vehicle. If the assault succeeds, the assault is resolved as normal (assaulting infantry hits on 6, even if the reverse move was done at Run speed).

    So I would say yes, the recce vehicle can make an escape move even if the assault is from less than 6in. If it does not, then it cannot shoot at the attackers as the assault is from less than 6in. So it makes sense for it to escape instead.

    • This reply was modified 3 years, 4 months ago by Master Chief.
    #168535
    Rene
    Participant

    Question about british little john adaptors

    Can i use them on any 2 pdr ?
    And they are costing Zero points ?

    #168536
    Master Chief
    Participant

    I believe they can only be used on units that state they can be used. For example in the Armies of Great Britain book:

    LIGHT TANK MK VII TETRARCH
    Cost: 105pts (Regular)
    Weapons: 1 turret-mounted 2-pdr light anti-tank gun with co-axial MMG
    Damage Value: 7+ (Armoured Car)
    Options:
    • May replace the anti-tank gun with a 3-inch light howitzer at no points cost
    May add a Littlejohn adaptor to the 2-pdr for +15pts

    • This reply was modified 3 years, 4 months ago by Master Chief.
    #168576
    Rudy
    Participant

    An Aufklaringsgruppe in DAK list can consist of up to 5 Kubelwagens.

    Is this treated as an unit with 1 order dice or are they 5 different units. with 5 order dice.

    Vehicle rules make it extremely difficult to keep the unit together and how do you apply hits to the models if it is treated as a single unit?

    • This reply was modified 3 years, 4 months ago by Rudy.
    #168607
    Nat
    Participant

    Hi Rudy,

    I think that all your questions have been answered in this thread…

    as no one in my gaming group uses /has any DAK I dont know the rules, but remembered the questions coming up before

    #168609
    Rudy
    Participant

    Thank you

    Was looking for a thread on it. Clearly did not looked hard enough.

    #168795
    John Duval
    Participant

    Hi guys. New player here and I am a little confused by the points for the German LMG. All my other units say ‘+3 points each’ or ‘+5 points each’. The LMG cost is listed as ‘up to 2 men can have a light machine gun for +20 points – for each light macine gun included another man becomes the loader’.
    Am I wrong in ass uming LMG’s are still 20 points each? Is it actually 20 points to bring 2? A little confused and have spent hours researching trying to find an answer. Your help would certainly be appreciated and thanks for the invite!

    #168798
    Nat
    Participant

    its 20 points per LMG, it should say each really.

    Its an issue thats in both the main rule book & the armies of germany book.

    however if you look at all the infantry entries no matter what nation its 20points for a single LMG so when you buy a 2nd for a squad it will cost the same.

    #168802
    John Duval
    Participant

    Thanks Nat!

Viewing 15 posts - 451 through 465 (of 476 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.