Lee

Activity

  • Hi, just wondering can this transport fire it’s 2 pintle mount mg’s when empty or just 1?

    page 30 of the armies of france and the allies.

    it lists the vehicles weapons as – 2 pintle-mounted mmgs with 360 degree arc

     

  • Hi, just wondering please if you were to add say 2 things to the starter japanese army box set what would you add?

    also is it worth making a mix of models in the set, I’m thinking it will mostly be riflemen, but are the light mortars worth it?

    build the tank with medium AT gun option rather than light howitzer?

     

    Thanks!

  • Lee started the topic Chaplains in the forum Bolt Action 7 months ago

    Hi, wondering with the chaplain choice in BoTB page 55, does the ability modifier come from the chaplains morale or the target units morale?

  • Hi, I’m thinking about making a 1000 point marine corp army (with some options) and was wondering what people suggest for units, I do have a dauntless dive bomber that I’m planning to turn into a air support marker. Should I stick to rifles and BAR’s in the units to keep it simple and make use of the national rule.

  • Lee started the topic Loaders in the forum Bolt Action 7 months, 4 weeks ago

    say a unit has 2 lmgs and 2 piats (parachute diversion section : dday book) can I just have 2 loaders to service all 4 weapons obviously only 2 weapons at a time but is it possible?

    or must squad team weapon loaders be nominated to their single respective weapon before the game?

    also can a squad team weapon loader fire his regular weapon other…[Read more]

  • Lee started the topic Setup question in the forum Bolt Action 8 months ago

    hi, hopefully an easy one but with setup if a scenario instructs to you to select half your units etc do observers/snipers count towards that total?

    e.g I have 7 normal units and 3 observers/snipers and the scenario instructs that i must keep half my units (rounded down) in reserve, will it be 3 units or 5 in reserve?

  • No worries, thanks for clearing that up, I was reading that line as 2 statements but I can see now what it means

    If a vehicle listed as a transport/tow picks a weapon option  —-    that means the transport loses its transport/towing ability

     

  • Hi Stuart, my confusion comes from the section on page 153 of main rule book under the “if a vehicle listed as ..”  ? surely this isn’t only referring to a couple of jeeps in old army books as I couldn’t find it on any other transports in several books.

    I went back and looked at the first edition bolt action transport rules and it’s even harsher…[Read more]

  • Hi, just want to make sure I have this right,

    1. if I have say a bren carrier as a transport and give it a pintle mount lmg upgrade it then no longer transports units but can fire both weapons itself and moves into another slot say armoured car?

    2. with the british army can I take gurkha paratroopers from the empire in flames book (which is says…[Read more]

  • Hi, just wondering if a unit in reserve is at “full strength” can you re-roll a failed order test to bring them on with a run or advance?

  • Hi,

    This came up in a game today and was wondering if we did it right,

    1. my flamethrower team advanced into point blank range of the side arc of a sherman tank armour 9, fired and rolled a 6 to hit, then rolled a d6 for the number of hits, rolling a 5, the flamethrower has a pen of +3 and gets +1 pen for hitting the side/top. So I proceeded to…[Read more]

  • Hi, trying to workout how movement is done for a unit with team & fixed e.g a MMG,

    if a run lets you move 12″ as normal and an advance is rotate only (-1 to fire) then how do you move across an obstacle? or through rough ground? or is it not an option?

  • Hi, wondering please with preliminary bombardment, say you have a medium mortar with a spotter do you just roll for the mortar or would you roll a bombardment for both mortar and spotter?

    I’m assuming just once for the mortar but I’m uncertain.

    Do spotters count as small teams? once again I’m assuming yes.

  • Lee started the topic Hidden setup confusion in the forum Bolt Action 10 months ago

    Hi, trying to figure out how the hidden setup works, from reading the rule book I can see it working 1 of 2 ways, but I don’t know which it is.

     

    A – as you place units you check for hidden conditions then place a hidden token next to them, (e.g I could place the first unit on the table out in the open hidden as no enemy is on the table to see…[Read more]

  • Doesn’t seem to matter how many times I read the Setting up observer and snipers information on page 131, I can’t get my head around when to setup these models.

    Do I have this right? –

    Apart from attacker/defender scenarios & if in reserve, spotters/observers & snipers deploy AFTER? all others units have gone down on the table or BEFORE?