Nat

Activity

  • Nat replied to the topic Rule Queries in the forum Black Powder 4 years, 6 months ago

    OK, not played first edition & I’ve not seen anything that says the v1 FAQ is still valid …so with that in mind I’d answer the questions as:

    Closing fire – page 54 makes it clear that the break test is made counting as in combat not being shot at.
    [quote] Chargers who suffer so many casualties from closing fire that they are shaken must take a…[Read more]

  • Nat replied to the topic Squares in the forum Black Powder 4 years, 6 months ago

    Bleh… its cavalry skirmishers who can evade formed cavalry charges..

  • Nat replied to the topic Squares in the forum Black Powder 4 years, 6 months ago

    In Napoleonics… any infantry unit that is bigger than Tiny CAN form square.

    If you use the Clash of Eagles supplement its an Order checkwith modifiers so isnt alway automatic.
    Tiny units cant form any formation other than skirmish or march column
    Units with the Skirmish rule can either do closing fire, form square or flee maneouver – now as…[Read more]

  • No, because your charge response is to form square not perform closing fire.

    The same as if you tell a unit to perform 3 moves then fail the order roll.  You’ve made the response of form square, just the guys have blundered and not managed to do so before the enemy cavalry hit home.

  • TL = theatre list

    Aka the theatre selectors

  • The word you are looking for is consistency – something the organic nature of the game is missing.

     

    the issue is simple, it’s not written as a pickup war game….easy campaign book is written separately and looked at separately.  So if the author thinks that a unit or equipment should be portrayed differently they redo it (see trenches, dr…[Read more]

  • Supporting units – pg 70, units within 6″ may support a unit in combat

    pg 77 break tests – Supporting units test if the unit that they where supporting fails its break test.

  • well on one hand you have Romans in heavy armour with large shields and good all round stats…. on the other you have unarmoured tribesmen…..

  • So if you roll equal or lower than the current crit level then nothing happens.  So if you roll a 3 and the ship already has a 4, then its zero effect (except for the base damage).

    Yes IJNs fan torpedo rule is VERY strong … its a single dice in place 6-12 AD, but its a straight 6 to hit no re-rolls or modifiers!

    And yes flights hit on their…[Read more]

  • Torpedoes all have Devastating rule –

    That means you dont try and beat the armour like normal damage – its always D6 – Torpedo belt number (if applicable).  Then IF you roll a 5 or 6 you get to roll again… if the second roll is a 4 or more then yes you’ve scored a critical.

    As confirmed by the FAQ, whe you roll for what level of critical you…[Read more]

  • ah been reminded… (take out the spaces….)

     

    https:// justlasered. co. uk/ shop/victory-at-sea-tokens-full-set/

  • you can photo copy /cut out the page at the back of the rulebook that has the tokens on…

    Personally I’m using an old Dystopian Wars 45deg movement tool – doesnt matter what you use so long as it limits the turn of the ship to 45.
    As for the other tokens they are just reminders, so a small puff of smoke or something like the  BA or CS pin…[Read more]

  • could be done in several ways –
    1 box of everything – 1 box to rule them all
    1 box of each type – 1 for eqipment, 1 for doctrines etc
    1 box of the cards found in one nations aircraft boxes – eg 1 box that has all the Russian squadron & Ace box cards
    or 1 box of every card NOT found in a nations boxes – eg the Russian box has all the cards that…[Read more]

  • Its a trade off, you lose a small amount of recovery ability (remember you can only recover 2 flights a turn IF you use a scramble order & dont launch any flights) but gain the defensive ability of not being targetable except by enemy flights.

    As per the WL FAQ, you dont give up any VP for being in Deep Deployment… so you opponent HAS to have…[Read more]

  • They didnt include 100% of any nations ships… (RN M class DDs, mentioned in one of the scenarios – no where in the book same with the Delhi AA Cruiser… mentioned as a refit but no stats!)

    As to the why?  no idea how they chose which ships to include or not, but some of the paper ships of the RN that where included in the mongoose version &…[Read more]

  • Hi Ed,

    Changing depth doesnt take up an flank speed movement, just the opotunity to issue an order.

    Dont forget that subs have a 50/50 chance to go from surfaced to submerged just because another ship has got to close.

    If you look in the News from the Wardroom thread I’ve put up 101 guides to subs, mtbs & flights as well as a 1 page cheat sheet.

  • Its 1 pin because its still only a single unit firing…. which is why for Japanese Grenadier squads its best for them to pick a separte target per light mortar otherwise its D2 pins but roll 3 dice and pick the highest.

    Same with a Tank its still gives 1 Pin no matter how many weapons it fires, however the HE (& flamethrower) rules says replace…[Read more]

  • Nat replied to the topic Some Rule Question in the forum Victory At Sea 4 years, 7 months ago

    On the note about submarines… they are a class of ship + its a trait.  So the same overlap rules apply to everything with a base….

    My point about the objectives is change it up and make it so that going evade all the time puts you at a tactical dis-advantage
    maybe  insteand of 3 or 4  Islands put a fair sized land mass in one quarter and an…[Read more]

  • Nat replied to the topic Some Rule Question in the forum Victory At Sea 4 years, 7 months ago

    Well dont forget that you also half your avalible flank speed* when you do an evade order (so a ship with flank 5 drops to 3) & it also means you are limited to 1 45deg turn (unless agile or you start at speed 7).  It alsom means that unless the ship is a destroyer it cant gain the -1 for speed, so yes you are forcing a re-roll…. but whats…[Read more]

  • The simple answer is it doesnt!  But thats because radar is only used on surfaced subs, and other surface vessels, and not submereged /Deep Diving Subs.   This is why I call submarines not on th board ‘hidden’…. and thinking about it, instead of detected it should really be called discovered.

    Radar’s use of the word detected means that a sh…[Read more]

  • Load More