June 15, 2021 at 10:53 am #185674peter jonesParticipant
in recent napoelonic game, the battle of Hanau.A unit ov Bavarian LI in skirmish ordwe was charged by some French LC. Could they form square. We read the rules and could se no reason why, there was tak of “clumps’ they passed the dice score and formed square. .They were later destrored by artillery. But the french on later conceding defeat felt it was a crucial decision and the dabate continues
So can skirmishers for square
pjJune 15, 2021 at 1:55 pm #185676NatParticipant
In Napoleonics… any infantry unit that is bigger than Tiny CAN form square.
If you use the Clash of Eagles supplement its an Order checkwith modifiers so isnt alway automatic.
Tiny units cant form any formation other than skirmish or march column
Units with the Skirmish rule can either do closing fire, form square or flee maneouver – now as they dont have a front arc they can always attempt to form square as the cavalry are always considered to be in their front arc :/
Most line unit have Must form square – they have no choice but to attempt to form the square – so long as the charge is in their front arc
Cavalry can only charge home on to a square if its already engaged or disrupted. If the squre is neither of these then the cavalry can redirect to another unit or halt.June 15, 2021 at 8:51 pm #185681Garry WillsParticipant
Skirmish infantry can’t evade cavalry, just infantry.June 16, 2021 at 7:44 am #185684NatParticipant
Bleh… its cavalry skirmishers who can evade formed cavalry charges..June 16, 2021 at 11:51 am #185685arcoleParticipant
I Clash of eagles, it is only Infantry in line who must make an order test (with modifiers) to form square (page99).
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.