arcole

Activity

  • OK, I purchased the Late French starter army, and it has me a bit confused. So far, every uniform reference I have seen shows the Cartridge pouch as being black, with maybe a letter N and a crown in brass. The box itself contains a transfer sheet for all of the included infantry with the company symbol on it. However these are also in black. Can…[Read more]

  • arcole replied to the topic Napoleonic Bavarians in the forum Black Powder 7 months ago

    The Bavarian Cheveaux Leger as costed at 41 points in the book, the same as most other Cheveaux Leger in the book. That would suggest that shooting ability has not been paid for. ALso look at the description on page 60 where they have a shooting factor of 0!

  • Thanks both. That matches my opinion too!

  • A quick historical question. Did Napoleon ever attach units from the middle guard to Line brigades?

    Thanks in advance!

  • In the rules, commanders are classed and either Infantry/artillery or as cavalry commanders.  This suggests that cavalry cannot be commanded by  the former and infantry/artillery by the latter, although it is never explicitly stated.  That seems to hold true in that all the battles in the rule book, until you get to the battle for Worcester. Th…[Read more]

  • arcole replied to the topic Elephants in the forum Hail Caesar 1 year, 1 month ago

    Look at Page 62 – troop types and page 112 charge responses (Version 2). Elephants can turn to face, but cannot counter charge. Chariots can counter charge but not turn to face.

  • I think this is likely to be a typo. Just checked my copy of the rules and you are correct – Cataphract simply reduces the to hit chance.

  • arcole replied to the topic LMG team? in the forum Bolt Action 1 year, 5 months ago

    BA regards both the M1917 and the M1919 as Medium MG. There is no Light MG present in the standard US infantry squad. Both machine guns are available  but come with 3 man crews.  As far as I know the US infantry squad was issued with the BAR rather than the MGs.

  • However, as note before, page 20 specifically names Line, Attack Column and Mixed Formation being different. It just adds that level of uncertainty. This is not a competition rule set, so my group have decided to go with the attack column not getting the benefit of the morale bonus when shot at from the front.  Thanks for the input all!

  • arcole replied to the topic Pilum clarification in the forum Hail Caesar 1 year, 7 months ago

    The Pila effect only takes place in the first round of combat when a charge has occurred. The unit must be fighting to its front, and not a supporting unit. See page 104 of the MRB.

  • Hi Garry,

    Actually I had not looked at it from the point of view of “formations”. Valid formation are listed on page 20, and there Mixed order is a separate line from attack column. This just adds another level on confusion.

    My own person preference would be that from the flank or rear the unit would get the benefit of the attack column as the…[Read more]

  • Simple question. If a unit in attack column deploys it skirmishers in mixed order, does it get the morale bonus for being in attack column or does that only apply if the main body is shot at from its flanks/rear?

  • An Abteilung looses 4 H2H and 2 stamina compared to a large unit. It is also 16 points cheaper than the large unit.

    C0E page 71. Each cavalry regiment with the Abteilung rule can be replaced by 2 3 or 4 Abteliungs. Here is the actual text:

    Because of this common ‘Abteilungsweise’ employment of splitting up regiments into detachments, we all…[Read more]

  • arcole replied to the topic Druids ! in the forum Hail Caesar 1 year, 9 months ago

    I suspect the army lists created before the Britannia book. As HC is intended to be scenario driven rather than points based some things don’t have points available. If you want to cost them agree a value with your opponents.

  • Do remember that every time the vehicle moves you will need to restart the ranging in process.

  • arcole replied to the topic Evade off Table in the forum Hail Caesar 1 year, 9 months ago

    As no-one else has responded yet.

    1. I cannot find it explicitly stated anywhere, but see “Units Leaving the Table”. I would read that leaving the table is not something you would voluntarily do. The chargers therefore would not leave the table.  The ability of the chargers to attack another unit really depends on how their orders were stated.…[Read more]

  • arcole started the topic Proximity Rule in the forum Hail Caesar 2 years, 1 month ago

    Hi,

    Played my first HC game (Marians vs Anglo Saxon) since the start of Covid yesterday, and unsurprisingly found both I and my opponent had forgotten just about everything. The section of rules that we had most problems with was the proximity rule, so here are some queries:

    1. The Saxon line advances towards the Romans. The two battle lines are…[Read more]

  • Both the Anglo-Saxons and Vikings can field combined units of heavy and medium foot. Can you combine upgraded heavy infantry with the medium infantry (i.f Saxon Thegns equipped with Long spears with Ceorls)

  • At the moment I have 10 painted battalions. Of these only 2 are large. Maneuvering has not been an issue as there is no command penalty for being large. Also, when in attack column the large battalion has the same frontage as the standard size battalion (3 wide/3 deep vs 3 wide/2 deep). The extra firepower of the large battalion in line is pretty good too.

  • That is why I asked the question – to see if anyone else has tried anything different. One idea that I have been thinking on is SR -1 if ordering 2 regiments, SR-2 is ordering 4 or more regiments

  • Load More