Rules Question Thread

Home Forums Historical Black Powder Rules Question Thread

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 166 through 180 (of 228 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #155983
    Charge The Guns
    Participant

    Hi Bert – I agree.

    If you try to issue either of those orders, Rally/Follow Me, then the commander joins the unit, and stays with them what ever the result of the order – success or not.

    With other orders, successful or not, the commander is free to move on their own at the end of the order phase.

    Does this help. What is the particular issue you are having around this order(s)?

    0
    #156008
    Bert
    Participant

    Hi Charge the Guns

    You say :

    If you try to issue either of those orders, Rally/Follow Me, then the commander joins the unit, and stays with them what ever the result of the order – success or not.

    But the rule say :
    “If the result is a failure the the unit does not move, and the Brigade commander cannot move that turn either having failed to reach the troops be intenteded to lead”

    I understand that the commander remains on the spot and does not move any more. And it’s the same for the Rally order.

    0
    #156034
    Big Al
    Participant

    That’s right, Bert. To be fair, it isn’t something that happens often. By the time you get to such a stage that you need either of those orders, your commanders are in such a position that you are unlikely to move them other than as a result of those particular orders. They are usually in perfectly good positions to issue orders to the units in their respective brigades. The Rally Order is because you want your unit to be able to advance in following turns, which they can’t When shaken.
    As for the Follow Me Order, it is usually to get a “slow” or “stuck” unit moving (a kick up the backside).
    Charge the Guns may not have mentioned it because it is something that you take for granted as being obvious at the time.

    0
    #156038
    Charge The Guns
    Participant

    Ah – I see. Well, glad you chaps have sorted it out.

    0
    #164716
    Marecki
    Participant

    Hello,
    At the beginning of game my brigade commander was eliminated. What can I do to command rest of the brigade? I nominate next commander with SR lower than previous? Is there any information in BP2 rulebook?

    • This reply was modified 1 year, 1 month ago by Marecki.
    0
    #164718
    Big Al
    Participant

    That is the usual procedure, but it is an unwritten rule. It is more something that everyone seemed to decide as the correct course of action to take.
    Of course, you could roll for his replacement’s Rating. Never go below 6 and 10 is too high. Really, just going one less is easier, but rolling could see the emergence of a rising star. Gives something to the narrative and personalises it a little.

    Now, I do have to ask, how on Earth did you manage to lose a commander at the beginning of the game? It is difficult enough to lose one at any time, really, but so early in a game is rather strange.

    0
    #164758
    Marecki
    Participant

    Big AL it was bold and bad (at the end) cavalery action on left wing. Enemy cuirassier unit was close to my objective, so I decided to take ‘follow my orders’ with my Scots Greys to make three moves. I was thinking that bonus attack and ‘gallop at everything’ rule will work against strong French unit. Unfortunately, my Scots made only three casualties, and French made six. Next I rolled ‘6’ to check if my commander is dead. Thats all :).

    0
    #164808
    Big Al
    Participant

    That sounds very unlucky indeed! The Gallop at Everything just forces you to Sweeping Advance. You have to win for that to be of any use.

    0
    #164860
    Marecki
    Participant

    Next time I’ll take a revenge 🙂
    Thanks for reply and cheers

    0
    #164899
    Charge The Guns
    Participant

    Well you acted very much in the spirit of British cavalry in the period 😀

    I like Big Al’s idea of randomising the command value of a replacement. You just need to be careful that this doesn’t encourage commanders with a poor cv to throw themselves in to every combat in the hope of being replaced with a superior subordinate :-0

    0
    #165004
    Big Al
    Participant

    Could always put in some sort of modifier that would still leave a chance of getting a better rating, but more Chance of equal or less. Also, make the roll using a d10, which will restrict the higher command ratings.

    0
    #165068
    Marecki
    Participant

    Ok, here is another question. Which play is correct when I want shoot to blue unit? Variant A or B? Is proximity rule doesn’t allow me to do variant A ?
    Sorry for doubled the files

    • This reply was modified 1 year, 1 month ago by Marecki.
    • This reply was modified 1 year, 1 month ago by Marecki.
    0
    #165082
    Big Al
    Participant

    Not sure I understand. If you want to shoot, you don’t have to move and Proximity doesn’t affect anything. So long as your unit has line of sight and part of the target falls within the front quarter, you can shoot away!

    Proximity only comes into effect if you want to move. If not, then you just ignore it. There is no obligation to move, which means that you don’t have to face an enemy.

    If you do want to move, then you have to end your move facing an enemy unit. That does not have to be the unit that triggers the Proximity Rule, but could be one that is as far as three moves away (three moves of the enemy unit, which means that it could be 18 inches or 27 inches away).

    In your diagram, you would turn to face the enemy – there is nothing that says that you can’t turn on the spot – and then you are locked in, meaning that you can only move backwards or forwards.

    Hope that helps.

    0
    #165103
    Marecki
    Participant

    Ok, in first picture I can shoot but with -1 to hit rolls, so I would like to make my target in full front quarter. I think that I don’t understand proximity rule at all 🙂 . For me being 12″ within enemy unit I can ONLY make move as rulebook says ‘STRAIGHT’ forward or backward, and any pivots, changing formation etc. are not permited. Well, I was wrong, so variant A is fully correct.
    Thanks Big Al

    0
    #165104
    Big Al
    Participant

    The Proximity Rule is to prevent a player from moving a unit into the flank quarter. It is allowed to turn until it faces an enemy unit. It can make a formation change and can move into its front or rear quarters. If you move into the front quarter while turning, or move into the rear quarter while turning, it is allowed. Pivoting on the spot allowed too.

    0
Viewing 15 posts - 166 through 180 (of 228 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.