Nat

Forum Replies Created

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 167 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #171337
    Nat
    Participant

    Depends on what the entry says …

    I take it that they are from the new guinea book?
    If it says that they can be taken in a normal japanese army without any qualifiers (ie saying they are exempt from x rule) they Yes they do get all the rules of the Japanese army.

    Not having the book I cant say 100%, however for example if I use the soviet hungarian unit from fortress Budapest I still get the ‘Not One Step Back!’ rule as they are part of my Soviet army.

    0
    #171336
    Nat
    Participant

    Correct, each unit & building* is rolled against once…

    If you have two units in one building then you still only roll once against the building…. and being an indirect weapon you have to see if the shell explodes on each floor, only auto exploding on the ground. (pg 125)

    *As per the building rules some people may define large physical buildings as multiples ‘rules buildings'(pg 122)… each ‘rules building’ should only cover a 6″ square area – mainly to stop teleporting infantry :p

    1+
    #171306
    Nat
    Participant

    ok my read of the rules is this:

    multiple launch rule is several steps
    i, pick a target
    ii, place the 3″ template – check that no friendly units are within in 6″ of the template – if yes shot is wasted, & see which enemy units are within that 6″ radius.
    iii, one unit at a time roll to hit enemy units identified in steps i & ii that are outside of min range. and work out number of hits and damage as normal.

    According to the FAQ, yes you can target buildings (as normal with indirect fire in the hope of destroying them)

    If you target a unit in a building or an empty building with a multiple launcher, how do you work out how many templates hit the building?
    When firing a multiple launcher against a unit in a building (or an empty building), measure the 6″ for additional targets from the building itself. Note that only one of the rockets can hit each building, even if it includes multiple enemy units on different floors. Then resolve a normal indirect fire heavy mortar shot on each target. You cannot fire if any potential target building includes any friendly units.

    0
    #171304
    Nat
    Participant

    Ok let me put this another way… hull down IS in the rules just not as a separte rule

    If you are more than 50% hidden you are in cover irrespective of what it is thats hiding you.. so if you are hull down then 50% at least of the vehicle is hidden from the unit that is shooting your tank. As its rather solid you take the hill (for example) as heavy cover so apply a -2 to hit.

    pg 56
    Targets Obscured by Terrain or Other Models: If at least 50% of the shooters in the firing unit can draw a clear line of fire to at least 50% of the model

    Page 105
    When you work out whether a vehicle is in cover or not, you consider the entire vehicle, and not just the facing the firers are targeting. So, only if 50% or more of the entire vehicle you are firing at is behind cover, then the relevant cover modifier applies.

    2+
    #171301
    Nat
    Participant

    Tangent question(s) -if you have bombers as your ‘fighter’ squadron can they also start the game laden?

    How would the 12 shturmoviks setup? As a single squadron? but in 3 elements (1 being high cover) or 2 identical squadrons?

    … thinking of running my 6 kates as an aditionl 6 shturmoviks just to try this out…

    0
    #171296
    Nat
    Participant

    If they want to hit hidden units on a 3+ they should get a unit within 12″ of the hidden unit…

    0
    #171295
    Nat
    Participant

    Ok..re-reading the sections (instead of going off memory :p)

    I can see where they are coming from in a RAW point of view as it talks about the cover modifiers being increased. And then HE ignoring the cover modifiers for being in a building would also ignore the hidden modifiers… Personally this goes against the spirt of the rules (as shown in the errata where it talks about you still need to look for the unit before shooting) and so I would argue that as its a mission setup rule it should REPLACE the standard cover modifiers and therefore still take effect against shooting HE against hidden units in buildings.

    OR just house rule that you never get better than a 7+ to hit hidden units and be done with it.

    Re: Indirect v hidden – ok I’d forgotten that the hidden rules replace the +1 range in mods

    0
    #171282
    Nat
    Participant

    normal cover rules apply to vehicles… so -1 for light cover (hedges and such) or -2 for stone walls & buildings

    0
    #171244
    Nat
    Participant

    Long version short…after the latest FAQ*, shooting HE at troops in a building just ignores the cover modifier, no other modifiers are ignored.

    So shooting against a hidden unit needs 6s before any other modifier such as small, down, long range and pins

    Indirect ignores every modifier (including hidden, pin) except it’s own ranging in ones…. as it only hits on 6 then +1 per turn if target is still within 2” of its positions

    *sept 18th 2019

    • This reply was modified 1 week, 1 day ago by  Nat.
    • This reply was modified 1 week, 1 day ago by  Nat.
    • This reply was modified 1 week, 1 day ago by  Nat.
    0
    #171027
    Nat
    Participant

    1, agree with mg & mortar teams…artillery are immune to the exceptional damage rule and other teams are 2 man teams

    2, issue with that is why are you then able to put the template anywhere in the unit, but measure how far you can walk the shot from the marker?..remember it’s a game of Hollywood films not a historical simulator

    3, again it’s game balance plus keeping the rule count down…if you start going this type of transport has this rule but this type doesn’t you are increasing the page count for no real benefit to the gameplay.

    • This reply was modified 1 week, 4 days ago by  Nat.
    0
    #170950
    Nat
    Participant

    true.

    0
    #170914
    Nat
    Participant

    I think they shouldn’t be allowed to use the extra weapons except in their own activation, and so with their order die. So when the transports activate they SHOULD only be able to use one gun…. as the FAQ explicitly states that its the Passengers doing the firing…

    On pg 17
    Can a medic or an artillery/mortar spotter fire the weapons of a vehicle they are being transported in?
    It’s the passengers doing the firing, and therefore medic units, because they ‘cannot fire any weapons’, cannot fire a transport’s weaponry.
    Spotters similarly cannot fire weapons and cannot spot while in the transport (extending to them the rules for HQs, which cannot use their special rules while transported).

    0
    #170609
    Nat
    Participant

    @Master Chief… the book keeping of that though!

    Another way of dealing with snipers would be give them their own chart…so something like this…

    Target has an advance, fire or no order die has no modifier
    Run order +1 to hit
    down -1 to hit
    softcover has no modifier
    hard cover -1 to hit
    target has a hidden marker – 2 (not accumulative with hard cover)
    per pin marker on the sniper -1
    natural 6 to wound is exceptional damage
    loss of team penalty is the sniper gains the fixed rule when using the scope.

    • This reply was modified 2 weeks, 3 days ago by  Nat.
    0
    #170508
    Nat
    Participant

    @duckweb42 – the multi engine aircraft where all repacks from another company. (Zeveda iirc) and are still available from them just without the advantage based and cards.

    The reason why the Russians have more squadrons is because they are just the ones from the falcon squadron box split out….

    But other aircraft are coming!

    0
    #170432
    Nat
    Participant

    Well we know the next book is Stalingrad, so I guess the one after that will be either Italy or the Burma campaign.

    1+
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 167 total)