Landsknecht army, which miniatures do you use for cavalry?

Home Forums Historical Pike & Shotte Landsknecht army, which miniatures do you use for cavalry?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Greetings

I’m completely new to this, having only read the Pike & Shotte rules but never played yet. I’ve started painting an army of landsknechte, because I like the varied uniforms. Panting an entire army in the same colours does not motivate me in the same way.

As yet I have only the Foot, but looking at the liste from the Battle of Pavia in the book, the Horse includes Gendarmes, Reiters and so on. But which miniatures do people use for these? If Gendarmes are armoured knights, then maybe the War of the Roses line has something somewhat suitable, although these are earlier than the Italien Wars. For mounted arquebusiers it seems the 30 Years War line has something like that, but these are too late for my period.

I know Steel Fist minatures have some knights as well as mounted arquebusiers, has anybody used these?

invisible officer
    Participant

Unfortunately not. The armor around 1525 was very different from the Rose war one, esp. the helmets.

But there is a warlord series that fits, the wars of religion gensdarmes. And the mtd. Arquebusuiers too.

Charge The Guns
    Participant

I’m glad IO has some ideas as I am a bit hazy on this part of the period.  I know that for late 15th century some of the WotR figures will work, but by Pavia they will not be right.  Those Steel Fist Gendarmes do look glorious.  Not sure what part of the Italian Wars they work best for.