6′ weapons

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action 6′ weapons

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #183477
    Steiner
    Participant

    Question:

    Pistols, flamethrowers, and any other 6′ weapon.

    Do the benefit from AT POINT BLANK? Do they have a long and short range modifier?

    0
    #183480
    Master Chief
    Participant

    My understanding is for 6in range weapons the Point Blank and Long Range modifiers cancel each other out, except for flamethrowers, they do not suffer the long range penalty as explained on Bolt Action 2nd Ed page 67:

    Also, flamethrowers don’t rely on kinetic energy to penetrate a target’s armour, so they don’t suffer the –1 Pen penalty when firing at long range.

    0
    #183481
    Greg S
    Participant

    That is correct they get both sets of modifiers for point blank and range.

    Flamethrower do still suffer the -1 to hit penalty.  They do not suffer the -1 PEN penalty that heavy weapons suffer at long range.

     

    • This reply was modified 2 months, 2 weeks ago by Greg S.
    +1
    #183483
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    There is nothing to cancel either point blank or long range modifiers 6″ range weapons, so both apply in the over 3″ up to 6″ range band.

    The modifier which is not applicable to flamethrowers is as Greg S says, the long range penetration modifier (damage roll), not the long range ‘to hit’ modifier.  P67, Weapons, Weapon Special Rules, Flamethrower, third para, last sentence – “Also, flamethrowers don’t rely on kinetic energy to penetrate a target’s armour, so they don’t suffer the -1 Pen penalty when firing at long range.” (also mentioned p107, Vehicles, Shooting at Vehicles, Damage vs Armoured Targets, Long Range).

    0
    #183490
    Steiner
    Participant

    Thanks a lot 🙂

    It is clear now.

     

    One more thing … Let´s imagine there is an enemy squad in a single line with the minus one inch apart from each other X X X X X X X

    and now a flamethrower is six inches from the first one only FT ======>X] X  X  X X X X (but the second and other models are more than 6″ away.

    Can the the flamethrower attack the enemy squad? Can kill more than the first model?

    • This reply was modified 2 months, 2 weeks ago by Steiner.
    • This reply was modified 2 months, 2 weeks ago by Steiner.
    0
    #183494
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    Answer is yes to both.

    You measure range to the nearest visible enemy model, but you are shooting at the unit as a whole, not just that model.

    Once you have determined how many hits, you roll for damage then remove casualties caused.  On p58, Shooting, Target Takes Casualties, last para you will find the following – “Note that casualties can be taken from any models in the target unit, including models that are completely out of sight and out of range of the enemy weapons – think of it as a dynamic situation where soldiers are moving around and bullets of course travel further than optimum range and often punch through or ricochet off cover.”

     

    0
    #183532
    Greg S
    Participant

    In this situation, the sensible casualty to remove is the first guy.  Now the sqaud is out of range of the flamethrower next turn – assuming they survive 🙂

     

    0
    #183533
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    @ Greg – like a lot of tactical advice, that’s situational.  If the target unit is planning to assault the FT unit (either later this turn or you’re hoping for first dice next turn) you actually want that guy within 6″ when you charge – surprise charge negates reaction fire.

    0
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.