New player here

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action New player here

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Kevin
    Participant

Hello, I am just getting into Bolt Action with some friends of mine. We have all chosen a different country and I am currently building an army of US Airborne. One problem I am coming across is the difference in the rulebook (2nd edition), and the Armies of the United States book.

For example, one of them states that Paratrooper platoons can have a BAR for +20 points, but the other one does not mention BAR’s as an option. I understand that if we are doing something set to a specific theatre and timeframe (Market Garden, etc.) then there are specific limitations for that theatre, but what about just general gameplay?

Thanks for the help!

Michael Sykes
    Participant

Hi, I’m also just starting out and doing a 82nd airborne army, I’ve wondered this as well, as far as I’ve discerned it seems to be the glider troops that get the BAR though I could well be wrong!

Kevin
    Participant

How far along are you with the build? I am painting my troops in groups of 12 or so to break it up a bit. I’m about 40% complete. I plan on posting a few pictures later on to get some feedback, I would be interested in seeing pictures of your 82nd guys as well!

Nat
    Participant

Hi both welcome to the wonderful game!

The lists in the rulebook are a ‘get you by’ lists and are superseded by the ‘armies of…’ books.  IE if you have both ignore the lists in the rulebook.

Some units have entries in campaign books and not the armies of ..’ books so dont worry if people mention stuff you dont have rules for (check out wg.easyarmy.com for lists!)

As to game play – so long as you agree with your opponent / run what the theatre list allows and go for it!

• This reply was modified 3 years, 2 months ago by Nat.
    Jacob Carter
    Participant