Napoleonic Artillery

Home Forums Historical Black Powder Napoleonic Artillery

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #180615
    Richard
    Participant

    How do you represent artillery in BP, in my old WRG days one gun figure equals to  two guns. Is it right that in BP one gun figure equates to a half battery and that 2 gun figures equates to a battery? How does this refer to sections as well?

    Thanks in advance for any info.

    0
    #180616
    Big Al
    Participant

    Is it right? Not really. That is some players’ opinion. The rules only specify that one gun is one gun. Some complain that the size of the base for artillery is too small and insist that the unit should consist of two guns and be increased accordingly. However, that is just opinion, not the rule, although the supplements do suggest similar, they are just suggestions and not rules.

    Now, as to what you should do. That is up to you and your opponents to decide. We tend to use single gun models at our club. What I will say about it is that you have to be careful about the changes that you make because it can unbalance things, although, if both sides are doing the same thing, it matters less.

    Artillery is very fragile. If it is contacted in Hand to Hand combat, it is lost. If it is Horse Artillery, it becomes almost useless if it takes a casualty – a unit that is shaken cannot advance on the enemy, which means that the Horse Artillery are stuck at their current range and if they retreat, they can’t go forward, which effectively reduces their range and effectiveness. Increasing the unit frontage makes artillery more vulnerable. When charged, like all units, they can shoot at the chargers. If the frontage is increased, the artillery (now with two guns) still only get the three shots that one model gets.

    Further, the increased unit frontage (and this is why I think players like it) means that there is less chance of bringing a second unit into the fight when they charge the artillery. If you are charging a single model, any adjacent unit will be contacted and included in the combat. That means additional Closing Fire attacks and additional HTH attacks from the enemy, reducing your chance of success – artillery can’t be supported. I said it was fragile, which means it can be ganged up on and easily destroyed. However, you can place it next to an infantry unit to help to protect it. Increasing the frontage strips it of this protection. Nobody ever mentions this when talking about artillery basing, instead they babble on about the “area” that artillery should cover, conveniently forgetting that it is reflected in the rule that it cannot be supported.

    Unless you provide limbers, your Artillery will be manhandled. That restricts the movement to a single 6 inch move, regardless of how successful your command roll is. Some, including the supplements, suggest restricting Horse Artillery’s ability to limber and unlimbers in the same turn, totally ignoring the fact that it only has a stamina of 1.

    So, read the rules on the artillery and decide what you want to do. Personally, I don’t understand why players are so keen to make artillery so ineffective in the game. I suspect that they don’t like dealing with it. I mean, yes, it has a nasty sting, but it can’t fire overhead without some serious restrictions and it requires line of sight, naturally, which gets blocked quite quickly, even on a large table.

    1+
    #180651
    Garry Wills
    Participant

    Sorry big Al, but one of the improvements in BP2 is  that they addressed this issue. On p.17 the rules discuss using two or three guns in a unit rather than one. The unit is described as a battery and given the frontage of a small infantry or cavalry unit, 120-150mm.  How many real guns is represented by the unit is left open.  However the gun scaling needs to change with the size of the infantry units represented by a standard unit. For example in Glory Hallelujah, 4 guns are a normal 3/2/1 unit, with standard infantry battalions at around 400 men.

     

    Regards

    Garry

    0
    #180653
    SteveT
    Participant

    The thing I found curious was Big Al saying  “a unit that is shaken cannot advance on the enemy”.  I’ve looked for that under shooting and hand combat. Can’t find it. It’s a game changer. I can find “shaken can’t charge” is all.

     

     

    0
    #180654
    Big Al
    Participant

    Look for it under Shaken!

    In fact, you’ll find it on page 59 under “Units Forbidden From Charging”.

    @Garry, I know they did, but what I was saying about it is still right.

    • This reply was modified 2 months, 2 weeks ago by Big Al.
    • This reply was modified 2 months, 2 weeks ago by Big Al.
    0
    #180657
    Big Al
    Participant

    Edited my last post with page numbers.

    0
    #180658
    invisible officer
    Participant

    BP is a very flexible minded system.   If you want a single model to represent a battery, do it. Or try some ways.  My Napoleonic forces have 1 model batteries, my Crimean war forces a 1 model ~ 2 real gun system. Allowing to show the different numbers of guns n batteries.

    The front of a battery was wide, the guns not standing wheel by wheel. There was enough space in a battery to let other troops pass through. But also making them a weak close quarter fighting force.

    A bigger problem  of space was the depth. Gun. Gun limber.  1st amo wagon.  With 4 – 6 horses each. Taking more space than an average  foot battalion.  But a lot of space between the parts.

     

     

    In BP many play with the manhandled small gun, not the 12pdr.  Even 8pdr / 9pdr guns are rarely used without all the stuff. Even the 3 –   6 pdr. batallion gun was drawn by horses. Manhandling gives a very limited amo supply. Only the mini amusette was drawn by men. A big shotgun…….

     

     

    0
    #180660
    Garry Wills
    Participant

    There is a big difference between shaken units not being allowed to charge and not being allowed to advance on the enemy. I am very surprised Big Al you are usually more precise than this. As to my previous post I was reacting to your comment that ‘the rules only specify that one gun is one gun’, which is clearly no longer true.

     

    All the best

     

    Garry

    0
    #180661
    Nat
    Participant

    @Big Al – that page number tells me shaken units cant charge, not that shaken units cant advance towards the enemy… I dont see how they are the same thing?  And as SteveT says its quite a difference.

     

    Advance towards the enemy = make a move and end up closer to the enemy than they where before they moved…

    charge = move in to hand to hand combat with the enemy

    0
    #180662
    Big Al
    Participant

    Sorry guys, you are right. Shaken units can advance, they just cannot charge. My mistake!

    3+
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.