SteveT

Activity

  • SteveT started the topic Flameproof tanks in the forum Bolt Action 1 day, 23 hours ago

    A KV-1 has 10 armour. Flamethrower Pen is +3.  So since it cannot be hurt, would a Regular crew have its 50% chance to ignore this low threat?  (And veterans 100% chance).   If yes, does that mean it skips the rout check normally forced by flamethrowers?

     

     

    0
  • Does a unit have to say “Going Down” the moment say a tank fires at it. Or can it wait to see if the tank hits and then go down? I assume both are options depending on how much risk you want to take.

    0
  • SteveT started the topic Q about FAQ in the forum Bolt Action 2 weeks, 6 days ago

    New FAQ today has this about Stalingrad campaign. We had the same question, But the FAQ answer didn’t help.

    The special rule “Off-Map Battery” (on pages 137 & 138 of “Campaign: Stalingrad”) states, “Soviet players are not allowed

    to take artillery units”. This in turn is seemingly contradicted
    in the (“NOT A STEP BACK!” REINFORCED PLAT…[Read more]

    0
  • Played our first game today. Was not good at all.  Points system is bizarrely unbalanced, way too many fiddly random modifiers and non-random modifiers. Assaults rules are far too unwieldy.

    Wish it had the elegant simplicity of Bolt Action that effectively conquers all these things with less mental processing.

    I came, I saw, I said “No”.

    0
  • From online rules:

    Dug in – the vehicle counts as being in Hard Cover to attackers and counts immobilised damage results as crew stunned instead. The vehicle cannot move for the entire game and is therefore always set-up onto the table (up to 12” from the player’s table edge) even in scenarios that do not allow initial set-up of units…[Read more]

    0
  • SteveT started the topic Ambush to Fire conversion in the forum Bolt Action 2 months ago

    Rules say at end of turn, you have a 50% chance, if you wish to try it, of making a group with Ambush take a shot instead.

    But in what order is this done?

    We had 5 in Ambush and the order would have affected who shot what.

     

    0
  • Flamethrowers get multiple hits vs vehicles?!  Didn’t realise that.

    0
  • This is questions that arose from an amphibious landing game, but applies to any situation with large transport units I suppose.

    I have 2 landing craft each containing say 6 units.

    First wave must consist of half my units, reserve wave then forming the other half.

    I assume then I can only being 1 landing craft onto the map doing the first wave.…[Read more]

    0
  • Thanks Master Chief. But it still seems that even a lone rifleman, as far as I can see, can take out a massive landing craft with a good shot. A boat so big that it can fit 36 passengers.  This cannot be right?

    This rule seals the deal brutally : “Remember that the superficial damage modifier only applies to armoured vehicles. Soft-skins suffer…[Read more]

    0
  • Just checking I’ve got this right…

    I can find Landing Craft in a couple of Campaign Books. They have armour 6, except the big mechanised ones that have 7.

    Now, it strikes me that the Armour 6 ones are going to take a hammering from any AT guns/tanks, and even a riflemen could destroy it with a single shot. Unless such craft don’t get treated…[Read more]

    0
  • If exceptional damage is scored whilst rolling within a HE template….. must the casualty be taken from a man within that template?

    How about normal hits? Could they be taken from outside the template?

    Seems odd if “yes”

    0
  • The Western Desert shows a painted “Afrika Korps Sd Kfz 233 armoured car”.  Yet I cannot find it on any of the Theatre selectors in the book…

     

    0
  • SteveT started the topic The 1 inch rule in the forum Bolt Action 2 months, 4 weeks ago

    I understand that any two friendly units cannot be closer than 1 inch to each other.

    I can see why it was done to avoid confusing piles of figures.  But do any of you ignore this rule, especially for when a commander is running alongside another group?

    On a similar note, the already–much-discussed rule of 1 unit per building (floor) seems odd…[Read more]

    0
  • I have multiple Leaders on the board.

    Can I use a Snap to Action on a leader to send an order to another Leader, who in turn activates his own Snap to Action….and so on?

     

     

     

    0
  • SteveT replied to the topic HE vs soft skin in the forum Bolt Action 3 months, 1 week ago

    So… from one HE strike each soft-skin take only 1  hit  (and 1 roll maximum on the damage table)? I assume so otherwise this will be a massacre :p

    0
  • SteveT started the topic HE vs soft skin in the forum Bolt Action 3 months, 1 week ago

    This has probably been asked lots of times but I cannot seem to locate a definite answer for Rules v2.

    What if a soft skin  is hit by an AP shell? Just roll once on the vehicle damage table?

    What if a soft skin  is hit by an HE shell? Just roll once on the vehicle damage table with the HE pen modifier, or multiple hits needs a 6 to d…[Read more]

    0
  • SteveT started the topic Exploding houses in the forum Bolt Action 3 months, 1 week ago

    Rulebook says 10 damage of HE brings the house down.  (p.125)

    But the entry for Goliath in the German armies book specifically reminds us of the rules for a heavy howitzer bringing down a building on 12 damage.

    Anyone know why there is a disagreement?

    Thanks

    0
  • SteveT replied to the topic Spotter movement in the forum Bolt Action 3 months, 2 weeks ago

    Thanks. It was actually the book’s paragraph about Indirect Fire that causes my confusion. Because in the case of a mortar the shooter has not moved, even though the spotter might have. Which suggests the spotter moves and the mortar just carries on firing shells at the last known target?

     

    0
  • SteveT started the topic Spotter movement in the forum Bolt Action 3 months, 2 weeks ago

    Mortar with Spotter.

    If I give the spotter some kind of move order, can the mortar move too?

    If I give the spotter some kind of move order, can the mortar keep up its indirect fire roll?

    Thanks

     

    0
  • SteveT replied to the topic NCO as loaders in the forum Bolt Action 3 months, 3 weeks ago

    Mmmm: is that specific to that unit I wonder,

    0
  • Load More