Mortar Team Zeroing

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action Mortar Team Zeroing

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #184103
    Steiner
    Participant

    Dear Comrades,
    One more question and thanks for all your support …. my youngest 12-year-old son and me are having a blast battling each other 🙂

    If a mortar team fires (obvously indirectly) against a building where there is an enemy squad and you get a 6 and hit it. The next turns you will only need a roll of 2+. But if that enemy squad leaves the building and a second different enemy squad enters that same building, do I keep the 2+ or I have to start all over again zeroing in?

    Thanks

    • This topic was modified 1 year, 9 months ago by Steiner.
    • This topic was modified 1 year, 9 months ago by Steiner.
    #184118
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    By the rules, it starts again – your target, the unit, has left the building and you are now shooting at a new target which just happens to be in the same location.

    Prime ground for a house rule, but important to understand the difference.

    #184120
    Nat
    Participant

    Unless you were targeting the building (pointless with most mortars as you need 10+ hits to hurt the building) then yes you need to start again as the target units foot print has moved more than 2″

    #184121
    Master Chief
    Participant

    Unless you were targeting the building …

    If I recall correctly you can only target a building if it is empty. If there is an enemy unit inside you need to fire at that unit.

    #184123
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    Exactly as Master Chief says, the only provision for targetting the actual building is for empty buildings (p126).  Once the building is occupied, you are targetting a unit in the building (p124-125).

    #184124
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    Also, don’t forget to read the errata for those pages – it makes it very clear you are still targetting the unit in the building despite the LOS line about ‘literally targetting the building’.

    #184126
    Steiner
    Participant

    Thanks to all. It is clear now 🙂

    #185354
    Steiner
    Participant

    Helo everyone,

    A new doubt came in yesterday´s game …

    If a squad in in bottom floor of a two-story house and enemy mortar rolls a 6, hits and makes some kills with extra pins.

    In the next turn, the survivors of the squad run up the second floor, Is is still a +2 for the mortar or a new beginning with a +6?

    Thanks

    #185366
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    Criteria to retain ranging in includes the following in brackets – “to count as moved, the entire unit must be at least 2″ away from the area that it was covering before” – moving vertically doesn’t get you away from the area you were covering before, so as written would not reset ranging in.

    #185367
    Steiner
    Participant

    Thanks. It males perfect sense.

    #185372
    Nat
    Participant

    Wouldnt you have to test for the mortar shell exploding on an empty floor?  If so then its just the foot print of the building they need to move 2″ away from

    IIRC indirect might explode on the roof or any floor

    #185373
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    @Nat – you are correct, the ranging in process only affects whether you score a hit, not which floor.

    The roll for which floor an indirect HE hit actually goes off on is after you’ve scored a hit,  you still have to determine which floor each subsequent hit goes off on, and you would have to get 2″ from the building to re-set the ranging in on your unit. (p125, Buildings, Shooting at Units in Buildings, Indirect Fire Weapons Against Buildings) – but if that building is being shot at with 3″ or 4″ HE, you’re going to want to get clear anyway, it doesn’t have to hit your floor to kill you if the building comes down!

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.