Sturmpionieren Squad

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action Sturmpionieren Squad

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #184102
    Steiner
    Participant

    Dear Comrades,

    Another question came out in today’s game.

    If I had a flamethrower within a squad, can the flamethrower fire at a target and the rest of the men at a different target, in a similar manner a the panzerfaust can do?

    Thanks

    • This topic was modified 1 year, 9 months ago by Steiner.
    #184119
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    Not by the rules.  The only weapons with a provision to split fire are one shot weapons and indirect fire weapons.

    #185202
    Steiner
    Participant

    One more question from today´s game 🙂

     

    If an enemy sniper fires at my Sturmpionieren Squad (where I have a flamethrower) and the sniper has direct line of sight with some riflemen in that squad but my flamethrower is hidden behind a high wall so that the sniper has NOT direct line of sight with my flamethrower in that squad, can the sniper choose in exceptional damage my flamethrower?

    Thanks

    #185206
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    Yes, he can.

    It’s exceptional damage.  Normal casualty removal rules allow specifically allow for any model to be removed, even models that are ‘completely out of sight and out of range of enemy weapons’ – what exceptional damage does is change which player gets to choose, it doesn’t introduce any restriction on which models can be chosen.

    You may encounter an occasional player still having flash backs to first edition snipers – in first edition, snipers had to choose a model that was visible to them as their target before taking a shot.  If they scored a hit and damage, that was the specific model that got removed.  That text doesn’t exist in second edition, instead you have “… counts as exceptional damage (just as if you rolled a 6 to damage), so the firing player can pick any model in the target unit as a casualty.”  There is no requirement to pick a specific visible model as your target before shooting, and nothing restricting you to only visible models in the casualty removal.

    #185210
    Steiner
    Participant

    Thanks. This clear now too.

    Personally, I like what you said about the 1st Ed but, rules are rules.

    #185218
    Steiner
    Participant

    I was wondering now about the advantages and disadvantages of having the flamethrower within the squad or as an independent small team.

    Within the squad: A = You can chose other casualties except in exceptional damage rule, so sniper are lethal here. D= You cannot split the fire.

    any other thought?

    #185219
    Nat
    Participant

    If you’re soviets….

    A – you’re in a squad, have access to body armour so are pretty much going to get there…
    D – none, upgrade to the Rok5 and cant be picked out + all your mates are armed with SMGs so you really really want that unit dead and gone!  ok that’s wrong!

    :p

    overall though
    A – dont lose an order die on a failed fuel check

    (fuel check is my wording for when you roll to see if the flamethrower has run out of fuel – by calling it that it allows for easy house ruling on modifiers to the check :p)

    • This reply was modified 1 year, 7 months ago by Nat.
    • This reply was modified 1 year, 7 months ago by Nat.
    #185221
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    Nat, if I remember correctly, the ROKS-2 upgrade is only available to the flamethrower team, not the flamethrower added to assault engineer squads.

    #185222
    Nat
    Participant

    erm….oh you might be right… got me doubting myself now…

    <runs off to check>

    EDIT – nope neither combat engineers or the mounted rece squad can take the ROKS upgrade…. making it all-but pointless on a 2 man team…. oh well!… still get the chance of body armour with the engineers! :p

    • This reply was modified 1 year, 7 months ago by Nat.
    #185224
    Nat
    Participant

    @steiner & Stuart – just to confuse things a little though… a rule of picking a target before rolling to hit is on the units of soviet snipers* in the Stalingrad campaign book as part of their special rules.

    *sniper detachment & Zaichata squad

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.