Light morter in platoons

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action Light morter in platoons

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #188808
    Sgt.saunders
    Participant

    A question about the light mortars such as e.g.  In the Japanese grenadier platoon.

    – The light mortars aren’t fixed, does that mean they’re        allowed to move and fire?
    – And since they fire indirectly they ranged in with 6?
    – What if the platoon moves can the mortars stop and continue firing?
    – what if the three mortars hit there is only 1 x w2 pins?
    – And can the mortars also shoot at different units?

    A lot of questions 😏
    Cheers Harry

    • This topic was modified 1 year, 3 months ago by Sgt.saunders.
    #188809
    Stuart Harrison
    Participant

    First a quick note about Army structure/terminology for Bolt Action:
    Your overall army is your Force.
    Your force is made up of one or more Platoons.
    Your Platoons are made up of a compulsory HQ unit, usually 2 other compulsory units, and a number of optional units.  Each unit is a squad/section, team, artillery gun and it’s crew, or a vehicle. I’m assuming you mean mortars within a squad rather than a platoon.

    The light mortars aren’t fixed, does that mean they’re allowed to move and fire?
    Yes.  The only thing stopping other mortars from doing so is the fixed rule.  No fixed rule means it can advance and shoot (with the added advantage that the ranging in process isn’t affected by the -1 fire and move modifier).
    And since they fire indirectly they ranged in with 6?
    Yes.
    What if the platoon moves can the mortars stop and continue firing?
    No.  The squad receives an order, not just part of it.  The whole squad suffers the penalties of Advancing, not just the models that actually move.  In this case, that would mean a re-set on the ranging in process.
    what if the three mortars hit there is only 1 x w2 pins?
    Correct, p70, Weapons, Weapon Special Rules, HE (High Explosive), Multiple HE Hits, last paragraph.  If all three hit the same target, it’s one lot of pins for that target.  If they hit multiple units, each unit hit takes one lot of pins.
    And can the mortars also shoot at different units?
    Yes, p72, Weapons, Weapon Special Rules, Indirect Fire, last paragraph.

    (edited a couple of times to remove the formatting from cutting and pasting your questions)

    #188813
    Nat
    Participant

    ouch….. dont know which of the two posts is the harder to read!

    OP has <tags> on each line
    Stuarts reply is about 2-3 words per line….

    :'(

    EDIT – ok… logged in to post & the formating fixed on Stuarts reply…. so just chrome being chrome I guess :p

    • This reply was modified 1 year, 3 months ago by Nat.
    #188909
    coljacksimpson57
    Participant

    Task organizing was, and still is, a common practice in infantry units.  An infantry platoon would often centralize its mortars into a single mortar section to support the assaulting squads.  Depending on the platoon’s mission such task organization would be made before the game starts. As WW2 progressed, some armies formalized the centralization of mortars, and sometimes LMGs, as the standard organization.  Compare a German infantry company’s organization from 1939 to 1944 to see how the evolution effected the platoons.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.