Beginning to build my forces

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action Beginning to build my forces

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Hi all,

I have now acquired all that I need to my bolt action gaming, I am still new to this game as I am mainly a Napoleonic wargamer.

I am appealing to those veterans out there who paint figures and vehicles, is it best to build them completely and then prime and paint them or is it better to paint each part before construction?

The reason I am looking for this advice is that I have so many figures and vehicles to build (i haven’t even started on them yet) I just want to know the best way to build and paint.

Nat
    Participant

The answer to this is…its personal taste there is no one answer!

Now what I mean by that is its how & why people paint.

Some people (ie me) assemble the models to play with, then painting is done by base colour then a dip or wash over a long period of time..some units getting painted sooner because they ‘perform better’ in games others might languash for years :p

For other people they want every bit of the model well painted so will paint then assemble so they can get to all the parts of the model.

Thanks, Nat,

The reason basically for my question was that it’s been many years since I build a model kit and I have never build anything from warlord games so I was wondering if there was a best practice with the Warlord and or Rubicon kits?

I didn’t want to build a tank or assemble a figure and realize too late that I should have painted different parts before I put it all together.

Thanks again.

Nat
    Participant

depending on the model, if unsure blue-tac them together and then see if you could paint them fitted.

Another approach is to do the body are head with the arms seperate. But with how the russians are I think you can get away with assembling the body, head and arms leaving the guns loose so you can take them out and paint separately

Gareth
    Participant