Mark Stanoch

Forum Replies Created

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 65 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #173107
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    So the way I read the Rules As Written, the only way a shooting unit would require a “6” to hit would be if the SHOOTING unit is Disordered or Shaken AND the TARGET unit is Not Clear OR Skirmish OR Artillery.

    #173099
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    I hate to disagree with you Big Al but the statement on page 49, second paragraph reads “Regardless of these modifiers, a 6 always scores a hit…There is no such thing as either an automatic hit or an impossible shot.” And accepting that the “/“ is equivalent to OR, this means that modifiers are not cumulative for those 3 conditions. This is a substantial divergence from the way we have been playing so I want to be sure I have it right before I spring it on my gaming group.

    BTW: Happy New Year again!

    • This reply was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Mark Stanoch.
    #173092
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    I don’t know about that. The To Hit Modifiers table on page 49 is quite clear. I now read the line “Target is Not Clear/Skirmish/Artillery” as “Target is Not Clear OR Skirmish OR Artillery”. The Target being in one or more(!) of these conditions defines whether a -1 penalty is applied. The fact is the die roll required to hit can never be greater than 6 (also on page 49, second paragraph) so being cumulative does not make any sense.

    • This reply was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Mark Stanoch.
    • This reply was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Mark Stanoch.
    • This reply was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Mark Stanoch.
    #173083
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    I am in a quandary regarding Shooting To Hit modifiers in BP2.

    In the To Hit Modifiers chart on page 49, it instructs players not to apply the Target Is Not Clear/Skirmish/Artillery -1 penalty more than once even if the target unit may be in more than one of these conditions (ie, skirmishers in woods). Clearly these effects are not cumulative.

    But on page 187 in the How It Played section for the Battle of Deadman’s Creek, the author states that “With both sides being in skirmish order, often as not clear targets or in cover, you pretty much need a six to hit every time.” This infers that the -1 To Hit Modifiers ARE cumulative. So which is it? Are To Hit Modifiers cumulative or not?

    • This reply was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Mark Stanoch. Reason: Misspell
    • This reply was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Mark Stanoch.
    • This reply was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Mark Stanoch.
    #169151
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    Battalion Gins in Hand-to-hand fighting in Last Argument of Kings.

    In our recent game of Mollwitz an Austrian Infantry regiment in Line was charged on its flank. The flank that was charged had the battalion gun so it was the initial point of contact.

    We resolved the melee by allowing the gun to conduct closing fire but all hand-to-hand hits were assessed on the parent infantry unit similar to how skirmishes behave during fire in Mixed Formation. Did we play that correctly?

    • This reply was modified 3 years, 2 months ago by Mark Stanoch.
    #168716
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    Yes, in addition to being muzzle loaders, the French artillery used timed fuses rather than contact fuses used by their German opponents. Which brings up another issue: what should the firing stats be for artillery? I am thinking that the French should use the standard 3/2/1 but the Prussians should be something like 5/5/5. What are your thoughts?

    • This reply was modified 3 years, 2 months ago by Mark Stanoch.
    #168678
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    Thank you for your prompt and insightful response. Would you suggest then that Prussian Artillery movement rate be increased to reflect the speed in which they deployed?

    And yes indeed I am referring to the conflict of 1870-71.😉

    #167184
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    Sam,

    You guys are wasting your time with that game. You should be playing Black Powder 2 instead!

    Warm regards,

    Mark Stanoch

    #166712
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    By 1870 both belligerents were using rifles (Dreyse and Chassepot) so presumably all infantry should be able to fire while being prone. So I am thinking that a prone infantry target would receive a -1 To Hit penalty as the target is not clear. If the prone target unit is in skirmish formation then the penalty would be the accumulation of two not clear conditions resulting in a -2 To Hit shooting penalty. And prone firing units should reduce their Shooting dice by 1. Do these changes sound reasonable?

    #166703
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    Thanks for the reference. But it only affects artillery fire hits? I was thinking that musket/rifle fire would be reduced as well….

    #165894
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    Thanks Big Al. Black Powder is rather new to my area so I am in recruitment mode for new players right now. I find that if the participants have at least a passing understanding of the more complex rules in BP it makes the game much more frictionless and enjoyable. That is also why all my participation/demo games are played in 28mm😉

    #165793
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    Big Al, thank you for your prompt and prompt response. You are indeed a wonderful asset for the BP community!

    #165791
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    My confusion surrounds the last paragraph on page 62 of Albion Triumphant vol 1. There the author refers to Mixed Order , not Mixed Formation and states “In Black Powder we offer no special rules to represent Mixed Order…”. The accompanying photo on the bottom of the page shows a brigade with 2 battalions in Line and 2 in attack column. None of these units have skirmishers deployed. So am I correct in assuming that for the Pas de charge benefit to be in effect all battalions of this brigade in Mixed Order must be deployed in Mixed Formation? Does this benefit accrue to those battalions in Line Mixed Formation?

    #165788
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    Are French units in Mixed Order eligible for Pas de charge? This question was posed back in October of 2018 and I did not see a response.

    #164570
    Mark Stanoch
    Participant

    I have only played a few intro scenario games and found that it was no problem playing with unbased Miniatures. However, if I was to base them I would use clear acrylic bases so that the sea game mat shows through.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 65 total)