Forum Replies Created
July 2, 2020 at 12:48 pm #179615
Just so you know; I’m seeing these questions but so far Nat has beaten me to the punch with a correct answer each time.0January 23, 2020 at 1:42 pm #173594
The lovely guys at the Lead Pursuit pod cast have produced some beta cards for Italians for their Malta campaign. https://www.leadpursuit.net/addons1+December 28, 2019 at 3:41 pm #173054
Limited ammo is why the Bf109E is rated at firepower 1 rather than 2 despite having cannon, the same applies for the earlier Zeros. From what I’ve read the different armament mix meant that pilots attacked slightly differently; mg-armed aircraft had more ammo so they would take snap and deflection shots more readily,open fire at long ranges and use multiple bursts to zero in, that all said each individual burst was less likely to cause serious damage. Cannon armed fighters seemed to go in for only using the cannon when they had a good chance of a hit, i.e. at close range or from a tailing position. In BRS these subtle nuances get rendered in to Firepower 1 in earlier aircraft, and sometimes heavy hitter traits in later ones to reward a closer approach.2+October 17, 2019 at 1:59 pm #170046
In both cases it depends on whether it’s a situation where you can add Pilot Skill.
So for Firepower with FP0 you can still shoot with Firepower 0 + Pilot Skill. We’ve taken to showing a ‘-‘ Firepower rating for planes with literally no forward firepower which can’t shoot using Pilot Skill, but a lot of the older cards tend to show Firepower with a 360 icon to denote purely turret firepower. You never add Pilot Skill to Turret shooting so those planes are effectively Firepower ‘-‘ too.
Likewise for Agility; if you could dodge by adding Pilot skill then you could still try even if AG0, but it’s worth noting that multi-engine planes can’t add Pilot Skill to their dodge unless they are Agile (Mosquitoes, Me110 and the like). Non-Agile, AG 0, Multi Engine planes can’t Dodge at all so would auto-fail any dodge they were called on to make.
Hope that helps, I’ll update the FAQ with your questions.1+October 17, 2019 at 1:38 pm #170045
Hey there Findo, glad you’re having fun. To your questions:
1) Yes you could be driven off the board by a flame attack. If the scenario has provision for models coming from off-table you could use that to bring the crispy individual back into play. If you get this happening a lot then do the last ditch Cool test as you suggest, but in general I’d view this as a harsh lesson not to lurk at the edge of the table.
2) Yes I rate areas of gas or Time trap victims as an obstruction so +1 Resist for the target if the line of fire passes through them. Honestly I give out +1 Resist for anything without a completely clear line of fire.
3)You’d need a destroyed result to wreck/remove a vehicle. Once at 0 Cool it would stop working but stay in play as a piece of terrain – you might even allow models to still use mounted guns on it.1+May 14, 2019 at 1:46 pm #161691
Thanks for the translation.0May 14, 2019 at 1:28 pm #161688
Yes, particularly with eye to single engine bombers now being readily available I’ve relaxed restrictions on the bombers so they can wiggle for their lives.0May 7, 2019 at 3:29 pm #161355
Any Time weapon can be used to cancel a Time Trap – even potentially another Trap. The Time weapon used for this purpose doesn’t have any effect other than to cancel the trap.
You’re correct about the range on Low Down O’Phee and Skull’s Stormers – it’s a typo and it should be 24″.
You can find a set of FAQ and Errata very kindly collected and hosted by Gordon Bissell here: https://thebissler.blogspot.com/2018/10/strontium-dog-miniatures-game-rules.html?fbclid=IwAR2vmwxGoku8ikELUsUx-SeOA-078swYSN9rceFJWNxF8baaBtC-9Lwe_dE2+April 15, 2019 at 1:53 pm #160001
Updated FAQ here as I couldn’t find where it usually lives on the forum.
Attachments:1+April 15, 2019 at 1:09 pm #159999
Aaand on the two additional multi-engine/ turret questions.
A multi-engine plane returning to base would inflict one boom chit plus whatever booms it was already carrying as Nat says.
The Accurate Ace skill could be applied to the turret I guess, but it is not a reaction card so it could only be played on the turret shot taken at the end of the aircraft’s activation.0April 15, 2019 at 12:00 pm #159967
On the card backs; the fact they have different graphics on the back kind of lives in the ‘it’s not a bug it’s a feature’ category. It’s imagined you’ll be cycling cards through your hand pretty fast under normal circumstances so knowing what you’ll get off the top of the deck next is not a big factor and more than balanced off by your opponent being able to see what cards types you currently have in your hand (theatre and doctrine cards have different backs too btw). If you find it off-putting some players use card sleeves with paper inserts to blank off the card backs for full fog of war.0April 15, 2019 at 11:51 am #159965
From the FAQ, it was actually updated with these turret questions last month so we’ll make sure the newer one is made available:
Q: Aircraft with Turret firepower can shoot at the end of an aircraft’s activation – does the turreted aircraft need to have a higher advantage level than the target?
A: No, turret shooting doesn’t need to have Advantage to target an enemy aircraft.
Q: Does turret firepower shooting provoke a head-on attack if the target’s forward arc is towards the shooter?
A: It does not
Q: Do turrets act as ‘wingmen’ for the purpose of preventing tailing?
A: No they do not prevent tailing, much as their real life crews wished that were true.
Q: Do turrets have the opportunity to shoot at the beginning of an aircraft’s activation?
A: No they do not. Turrets only get a shot at the end of the aircraft’s movement.
—————————————————————————————————————————0April 3, 2019 at 6:27 pm #159112
Then all I can say is my hat’s off to that level of precision flying, roll a dice for it 🙂0April 3, 2019 at 6:16 pm #159110
My advice is to take a straight edge like a ruler or book spine and line it up above both sides of the plane’s base so its running along the arc lines on the pilot disc and extending them outwards in effect. Things can often look close when you eyeball it but are actually not. I’ve genuinely never had a case that was too close to call when using the ruler method.0April 3, 2019 at 6:04 pm #159104
In the unlikely event of it being
along the line you’ll have to roll a dice or flip a coin for it. I can’t honestly ever recall this happening.0