Question- Coldstream Guards

Home Forums Historical Black Powder Question- Coldstream Guards

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Steve Connor
    Participant

This has probably been asked in the past,please forgive if it has. I am new to Black Powder and I am starting a Waterloo Collection for gaming purposes. My Question, is how do I modify or even have to, convert standard figures to represent the 2nd Battalion Coldstream Guards. I have a family connection to the Battalion, my father served with the Battalion. Sadly he has passed away and I thought it would be nice to represent the Battalion on my gaming table in his memory. Thank you in advance for any advice you may have.

• This topic was modified 4 years, 12 months ago by Steve Connor.
    Big Al
    Participant

There would be little or no conversion required. All of the regiments had the same basic uniform. The collar, cuffs and facings are what would be different. Blue collar and cuffs and the drummer would have the same colour coat, not reversed, as other regiments. That’s because it is a guards unit. The only other thing you need to find is the banner. Victrix do a set of flags, one of which has the Coldstream Guards colours. There are other manufacturers that will do them, too, like Battle Flags.

Steve Connor
    Participant

Big Al, Many thanks that gives me a good starting point.

Charge The Guns
    Participant

Hi Steve,

A great idea for a modelling / wargaming project. As Big Al has said, I think the distinction between line and guard battalion figures would all come down to the painting, i.e. colours of cuffs, collars and ‘lace’ etc. I would recommend one of the Ospreys (114?) or Haythornthwaite’s Uniforms of Waterloo for details and background.

Steve Connor
    Participant

Thanks Mate, I will check out both those References.

Dr Dave
    Participant