SD. KFZ 251 – Scale

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action SD. KFZ 251 – Scale

Tagged: 

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    GLLM
    Participant

Hi everyone!

I’m new in the game. i made a come back in the minis world, a world i left for a while til i discover Bolt Action.
    I started with the Band of Brothers box set, got great times painting all the soldiers from both sides, germans and americans until i glue the SD. KFZ…
    It seems far too small beside the Bolt Action miniatures. It also seems way too far from a real 1/56 scale.
    Is it the same with all Bolt Action vehicles ?

I plan to invest some money and time in a german army, with some Panzers, but now i wonder if i have to buy articles from Warlord Games in a supposedly 1/56, or if i must go to some 1/48 scale ? Can you tell me more about it ?

Cheers from Paris!

Nigel Heather
    Participant

I think it is probably okay. There are videos on youtube that compare the warlord and rubicon versions. In my experience, the rubicon models tend to be pretty accurate and comparing the two, the warlord version is slightly bigger, longer and wider – so I wouldn’t have thought it was too small.

One thing is that warlord figure sculpts tend to be quite chunky which can make them look a bit too big for figures even though they are the correct height.

Cheers,

Nigel

Tim Haslam
    Participant

I suppose it’s down to what looks right to you.
    I’ve got armies with 1/56 scale and 1/48 scale, but I’ve not mixed the scales in each force.

I’ve bought vehicles from other sources that claim to be 1/56 but when I’ve measured them using digital vernier callipers and cross referencing with official vehicle documents, I’ve found them to be 1/60 scale!

I’m not moaning, just saying either scales work for me.
    Just don’t mix them within your army.

Main point, is not to worry about it.

GLLM
    Participant