Rules Question Thread
September 15, 2020 at 4:00 pm #181615Rough RiderParticipant
I have a question regarding charging when multiple options are available. There doesn’t seem to be a restriction on charging the closest target. So, for example, in a recent game a unit of horse had a target 6″ to it’s front and another target 16″ to it’s rear; the horse chose to spin around and charge to target to it’s rear. It seemed valid, if a little odd, by the rules.0September 15, 2020 at 9:38 pm #181621Charge The GunsParticipant
Hi RR, I don’t think they’re is a charge target priority rule. In the situation you describe the unit is taking quite a risk as it will need 3 moves to complete a successful charge to the rear (one to turn around and two to travel 16”). There is a good chance it will only get one move and end up turning around right in front of the closer enemy unit, which could use initiative to charge in to the rear of the unit in its turn. There is also a -1 on command for ‘enemy within 6”‘ factor to remember as well.
So it is a risky move, but allowed, I think. I did wonder about the proximity rule but that only stops sideways movement.0September 19, 2020 at 3:48 pm #181678Rough RiderParticipant
IIRC, the charge went through ok. I don’t think it cost him a move to about face though; I can’t recall how we figured it didn’t.1+September 20, 2020 at 10:01 am #181686Charge The GunsParticipant
I guess it will be remembered as a daring move that came off 😀0
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.