Rules Question Thread

Home Forums Historical Pike & Shotte Rules Question Thread

Viewing 4 posts - 31 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #181615
    Rough Rider
    Participant

    I have a question regarding charging when multiple options are available. There doesn’t seem to be a restriction on charging the closest target. So, for example, in a recent game a unit of horse had a target 6″ to it’s front and another target 16″ to it’s rear; the horse chose to spin around and charge to target to it’s rear.  It seemed valid, if a little odd, by the rules.

    0
    #181621
    Charge The Guns
    Participant

    Hi RR, I don’t think they’re is a charge target priority rule. In the situation you describe the unit is taking quite a risk as it will need 3 moves to complete a successful charge to the rear (one to turn around and two to travel 16”). There is a good chance it will only get one move and end up turning around right in front of the closer enemy unit, which could use initiative to charge in to the rear of the unit in its turn. There is also a -1 on command for ‘enemy within 6”‘ factor to remember as well.

    So it is a risky move, but allowed, I think. I did wonder about the proximity rule but that only stops sideways movement.

    0
    #181678
    Rough Rider
    Participant

    IIRC, the charge went through ok. I don’t think it cost him a move to about face though; I can’t recall how we figured it didn’t.

    1+
    #181686
    Charge The Guns
    Participant

    I guess it will be remembered as a daring move that came off 😀

    0
Viewing 4 posts - 31 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.