Rules Question Thread

Home Forums Historical Pike & Shotte Rules Question Thread

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 38 total)
  • Author
    Eric Fontaine

Have a specific rules question, let’s hear it. Let’s chat about it. And lets get the official ruling. Who will be first?

fabambina
    Participant

If a battalia commander fails an orders test, can the battalia general then attempt to give that same unit the same order?

Charge The Guns
    Participant

Hi fabambina

No. From p32 “If the order roll is failed then the unit cannot be issued another order that turn.”

If there are other units in battalia that haven’t been issued an order then the General can attempt to issue them an order.

Cat Shot One
    Participant

(for lack of a better place)

Are the Samurai Armies lists & rules (“Armies of the Daimyos”) also available separately from the big army box?

Mark McLaughlin
    Participant

Combat Results Question
    -i am just learning these rules on my own (played many other sets, have lots of figures)

–are the Combat Result Bonuses extra dice you roll to try and score hits OR are they applied to the end result?

In other words, is this example right (or have I got it wrong)

In combat, two units fight.
    Unit A suffers two casualties, Unit B suffers one casualty.

Do you THEN add in the Combat Results Bonus?

So right now A is losing
    but, if A has flank and rear support, it gets +2….which means although it has taken two casualties, it has still won…and then B has to take a break test for losing the combat?
    (A: inflict 1 casualty, +2 bonus = total of 3 vs
    B: inflict 2 casualties = total of 2)

which means to defeat a hedgehog, take a house, or defeat someone in the middle of a line with support all around you only win if you inflict far more losses than you take?

Is that right, or do i have it all wrong.

The rulebook, sadly and oddly, does not have a good example of resolving a combat….appreciate any help

Charge The Guns
    Participant