Looking for help with positioning of equipment on British Airborne models

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action Looking for help with positioning of equipment on British Airborne models

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    james
    Participant

I’m hoping the more knowledgeable of you here can help me with assembling a sprue of British Airborne when it come to the various equipment options. I’m sure there are intended combinations for the different weapon loadout etc but for the complete novice what are they? I have the Osprey Men at arms book The British Army 1939 – 45 (I) which helps a little but does not cover my specific needs.

I’m not looking for 100% historic accuracy but it would be nice to have some resources to refer to they are look about right, and avoid glaring errors where the placement on the model is just wrong placement, orientation etc.

Nat
    Participant

in a field situation there is no such thing as equipment in the wrong place… the ammo pouch is where the hand goes, same with bayonet fob…. but its how the individual wants to carry it (we used to be able to tell whos belt kit was whos by that).

also you are looking at everyone carrying kit for squad weapons … ie whilst the gunner and assistant would carry the bren, spare barrel etc all the squad would carry extra mags + mortar shell + piat round etc etc

invisible officer
    Participant

Well, not everything is possible. The Webbing Pattern 37 web Equipment has some parts that fit only to special others.

That link brings you to a page with the regulations.

http://www.karkeeweb.com/patterns/1937/1937_manuals.html

But the basic is cast on the miniature anyway. Belts and amo pouches are there.