Gebirgsjäger / Fallschirmjäger

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action Gebirgsjäger / Fallschirmjäger

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Ulfar
    Participant

Hello everyone!

I’m quite new to BA and, to be honest, I have a couple of questions regarding the matching between boces and theatre of operation.

I have always had a passion for Fallschirmjäger and Gebirgsjäger.Two branches of the German army, considered as “elite”, intended to complete, in general, missions with minimal equipment and support. What I have always found impressive.

So, of course, you understand among my favorites “campaigns” are the Balkans, and of course Crete, as well as the Italian front. But I’m note sure about which boxes are the most suitable… so, I’m kindly asking your help.

A. Regarding the Italian front, is the collection “Fallschirmjäger late war (1943-45)” is also suitable for for this front or it’s mainly for Normandy / Market Garden?

B. Regarding the Balkans / Crete era, the only “early war” Fallschirmjäger box available is the tropical uniform. But it looks this one seems to be more about the Ramcke Brigade than Operation merkurk uniform wise.

C. There is only one available box of Gebirgsjäger so far but, from the pictures of its content I could find, the uniforms look much more suitable for scenarios “northern” than Crete or Italy.

Thank you

Jacob Carter
    Participant

At times you’ll have to sacrifice 100% accuracy if you’re trying to get a specific unit or do some major kitbashing.  I did some quick research into those units though I’m much more familiar with late war stuff and know virtually nothing about Gebirgsjager, hope I can help you get started!