French Napoleonic artillery

Home Forums Historical Black Powder French Napoleonic artillery

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    East Norfolks
    Participant

Hi all – I am new to Black Powder but really enjoying playing it with my 15mm Napoleonics. Quick question that is bugging me though – how is the firepower of a French 8 gun 12 pdr artillery company reflected versus the firepower of a British 6 gun 9 pdr company? Surely there must be a difference but I can’t find it – sorry for the dumb newbie question. Comments would be much appreciated.
    Thanks

Nat
    Participant

the game isnt granular enough for that level.  so 3-4 guns is a half battery, 6-8 a standard and 10+ is a large (russian) one.  With the guns being classified as battalion, light /Horse, foot, and heavy/siege.

Dont forget if you look in the Napoleonic supplements and the rulebook you’ll notice some units change which type of guns they have … also the difference is 12″ of range between light & normal foot.

• This reply was modified 2 years, 11 months ago by Nat.
    Big Al
    Participant

Range. It is the different ranges that make the difference.

East Norfolks
    Participant

Thanks for that.

I think this means both are “standard” size but a British 9dr battery is classed as normal “foot” (with a range of 48″) and a French 8 gun 12 pdr battery can be classed as “heavy” (with a range of 60″, like siege).  I guess this would make sense as it gives the French an advantage of 2 dice from 30″ rather than at 24″.  Is this correct?

Mike
    Participant