Captain Kim’s Recon Patrol

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action Captain Kim’s Recon Patrol

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Cliff C
    Participant

I live in Hawaii where the 100th Infantry Battalion is a big deal. I got into Bolt Action because of the nisei figures and the sample scenarios because I wanted to use the game to educate kids about what their grandfathers went through. I was just contacted by the family of the soldier who went on Captain Kim’s patrol and I think they’d like to see it played.

I’m at a loss on how the Germans are played. Seems it must be some form of random AI like in Postage Able skirmish rules.  Any suggestions?  I’m very new to the game.

Cliff C
    Participant

Scenario 2 – Captain Kim’s Recon Patrol

Captain Young Oak Kim’s daring recon raid to capture German soldiers for intelligence is the stuff of legend. Five lightly armed Nisei snuck of the Anzio beachhead, past enemy frontline outposts and into the rearguard using nothing more than wheat fields and drainage ditches for cover. Once there, they took two prisoners at gunpoint and snuck back to their own lines, risking capture and death at every turn. This scenario is meant to be a quick skirmish, either as a warm-up before the main event or for when time is limited and you still want to get in a game of Bolt Action.

Opposing Forces
    This scenario is played between a squad of German soldiers and a squad of Americans. Each side may pick a single Infantry squad, with the Germans choosing from those available in the 1943-44 Defence of Italy selectorin the Armies of Germany book and the Americans choosing from the 100<sup>th</sup> Infantry Battalion reinforced platoon selector.

Set-up