Ben Norton "nzdarkelf"

Forum Replies Created

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #183714

    Basically its to lock the players into a predetermined course of action. So you won’t be able to look across the table if you are going 2nd and make your deployment decisions based on what happened in your opponents turn. So its creating a Fog of War challenge to your game.

    0
    #180556

    Hi Big Al. Wow you have never failed to form square. brought a smile to my face. In my very first game of BP, the first time an infantry unit was charged by cavalry the roll to form square came up double 1’s! That wasn’t the end of it. In the combat phase, the cavalry rolled all 1’s and 2’s and failed to score a single hit, resulting in the infantry fighting off the cavalry attack. Can’t say its ever happened again, but what a way to start 🙂

    Ben.

    0
    #173135

    Thanks Cornet.

    0
    #173067

    I guess your original question comes down to how you play your brigades. Do you commit all 4 battalions to the fight or do you attempt to use some as a reserve?

    I think this rule is helpful with cavalry which are unlikely to have 4 regiments, as a way to discourage single regiment brigades.

    0
    #173052

    Actually I believe Bakblast to be correct as an exception to the rule was made for 2 unit brigades.

    Its late where I am so I’m sorry I’m not breaking out the rulebook and going looking. I’m happy to be corrected, especially if this was a 1st edition thing that hasn’t been carried over to the 2nd edition.

    If I remember I’ll look tomorrow.

    0
    #172286

    Hi

    I think you will find the Australian army did not fight in Italy, they were withdrawn back to Australia. However, the New Zealand Army did fight in Italy.

    Ben.

    0
    #170720

    BTW I was part of the original playtesting group for Clash of Eagles. I ran my idea for solving this question with Ady McWalter, the author of Clash of Eagles.There isn’t just one way to deal with it, but mine works. And there won’t be any ‘official’ solutions. Experiment, and find what works for you.

    Ben.

    0
    #170716

    I haven’t been on the forum for a wee while. I asked the same question just a few days b4 this post was created. You can check it out at: https://www.warlordgames.com/community/topic/poor-skirmishers-with-bp2/

    0
    #168960

    Thanks again. I will go with the reroll of a die.

    0
    #168932

    Thanks for the replies.

    Yes it is a problem that giving Sharpshooters to all skirmishers nullifies the bonus to the elite light infantry.
    I also feel giving them -1 to shoot would result in them not being used as skirmishers.
    I have considered making Poor Skirmishers reroll 1 successful hit. This wouldn’t be too powerful, while still giving them a disadvantage. Thoughts?

    Ben.

    0
    #156805

    Hi Des,

    I think it would be fair to allow a wizard to cast a missile style spell if being charged. Applies to all parties, and could easily be accepted by a group as a standard evry day house rule. I think I will.

    Ben.

    0
    #153712

    Mine was posted yesterday.

    0
    #136273

    Hi Guys I’m Ben. I’m from New Zealand’s South Island. My main interest is playing Black Powder Napoleonics, though I have just recently painted up my first Warlords Vikings. Aiming to use the Shieldwall supplements skirmish rules to game with them.

    +1
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)