Nat

Activity

  • Nothing in the rules say that they are forced to dismount, unlike say motorcycles, if in combat.

    So they would stay on horseback, and therefore keep tough fighters (as that is part of cavalry being mounted)

  • I would use them as a marker for when your mounted infantry are on foot.

    I *think* theres more detailed rules in the ‘glory, hallelujah’ book…. but as I dont have it cant say for certain.

  • Nat replied to the topic Spotters in the forum Bolt Action 3 months, 3 weeks ago

    So … a spotter costs 10 points reg or 13 points vet irrespective of the weapon they are purchased with.

    For a model that cant take objectives, cant man a weapon on a transport, cant shoot, cant initiate an assault … all it can do is stop the weapon team firing or moving to move themselves & give line of sight to a specific weapon team while…[Read more]

  • Nat replied to the topic Spotters in the forum Bolt Action 3 months, 3 weeks ago

    Ok a couple of other points (its hard to follow a wall of text)

    Theres no rules stopping you from targeting the spotter … except most of the time they are at a -3 mod… which is understandable as its one guy trying very hard not to be seen :p
    Nor is there any rules saying you cant charge the spotter (but there is the otherway round).. I’ve…[Read more]

  • Nat replied to the topic Spotters in the forum Bolt Action 3 months, 3 weeks ago

    please dont take this the wrong way…. but you are falling in to a common pit-fall… (took me a couple of years, and playing around with house rules /interpretations for VaS to realise it )

    Bolt Action is not a historical simulation game but a beer & pretzel game based on the Hollywood vision of ww2.  What this means is that some things make…[Read more]

  • Nat replied to the topic Spotters in the forum Bolt Action 3 months, 3 weeks ago

    nope… spotters are their own unit with the following exceptions

    they dont generate a order die – they have to BORROW the weapon teams order die to act… this is why they are removed when the weapon team is..
    they always count has being down, unless they have the borrowed order die next to them
    the weapon team with which they are purchased can…[Read more]

  • As far as I can tell, the cost of a M/C + sidecar is covered in the cost of upgrading to motorbikes

    IE you can put 10 guys on 5 motorbikes or 5 with 5 sidecars or 10 motorbikes… its all the same cost.

  • Nat replied to the topic Consultation and advice: in the forum Black Powder 4 months ago

    So … when you form square you are limited to 1 dice of shooting per face as a standard rule
    first fire – the first time this unit fires it adds one extra die.  If it can split fire, either by being in a building or in a square then it adds that 1 dice to 1 of those attacks

    So even if the British player doesnt want to use 2 dice from a square…[Read more]

  • vets get pinned when hit by small arms out side of vehicles… pinning also means troops keeping their head down which your’d do even in a half track…. I see no reason why the experiance of troops should alter if they get pins

  • Nat replied to the topic Fixing MMG Teams in the Game in the forum Bolt Action 4 months ago

    tweak #1 – by soft targets you mean softskins, infantry & artillery?
    tweak #2 – hmm…. would that count as a different ammo type for when going in to ambush?  or is it mandatory?

    LMGs – as you say… appear a lot… so wouldnt touch at this time

    Vehicle MGs – is this a blanket all none pintel LMGs, MMGs & HMGs apply an extra -1 mod on all…[Read more]

  • … hmm…. keep the automatic pins for any transported unit, but the vehicles themselves give them a roll to immediately rally (shrug off) the pin.  vets 3+, regular 4+, inexperienced 5+

    This keeps it roughly the same but you wont see all the transports suddenly become vets to protect the guys inside…..

  • Not for infantry… to be honest I thought they were the company insignia for the turn backs on the tunics…. <shrugs>

  • Nat replied to the topic Dug In Rule in the forum Bolt Action 5 months, 3 weeks ago

    As the rules say – being dug in gives no intrinsic benefit to assaults,  what you are talking about with sandbag walls is all ready covered by the core rules of obstacles soft /hard cover.

    There is nothing stopping you putting the initial foxholes immediately behind a brick wall (hard cover obstacle).

  • Nat replied to the topic Dug In Rule in the forum Bolt Action 6 months ago

    1st question is – which campaign book are you reading?

    However my read of the Dig In rules from ‘Duel in the Sun’:

    Where Scenarios allow it units can begin a game Dug in.  Units deploy as normal but must be marked as locations can be re-occupied by other units later in game.

    Use – Units count as being DOWN when shot at unless they have an AD…[Read more]

  • Nat replied to the topic Units in transport at setup in the forum Bolt Action 6 months ago

    You have a truck + 3 teams = 4 dice in the bag for units waiting to be deployed.

    When you pull a die to deploy you can choose what unit to deploy – until this point the unit is NOT in the truck, it is separate deployment… So yes, you can deploy a team into the truck when the truck is still waiting to be deployed….

    You may see that you dont…[Read more]

  • Nat replied to the topic Units in transport at setup in the forum Bolt Action 6 months ago

    Transport units are a unit and therefore ALL the normal deployment rules apply.

    – So yes they can be deployed either on the table or in Reserve as you see fit.
    -They provide an order die… the only die NOT placed in the bag for deploying are those that have forward deployment so they must be placed in the bag….

    when you say they cant do…[Read more]

  • well….. this is where BA fall apart… its NOT a tight competitive system, but rather a framework (why multiple campaign books played against each other can break the system)…

    So basically theres two approaches… one is its a friendly game, and if thats historical & you pay the points then use it!  (this is what I would go with)
    the other…[Read more]

  • Nat replied to the topic Napoleonic Bavarians in the forum Black Powder 6 months, 1 week ago

    eg Rheinbund are moral 5 with rifle mixed in the unit entries

    the Westphilian Cuirassiers lose 1 H2H & the Guard du Corp 2 H2H between the unit entries and the stat charts.

  • Nat replied to the topic Napoleonic Bavarians in the forum Black Powder 6 months, 1 week ago

    Theres all sorts of miss-prints in that book between the army entries and the stat -charts at the end of the book… missing rules, missing /incorrect stats etc etc

    The book is AT BEST a frame work starting point for you & your mates to work off…..

    However historically Bavarian Cheveaux Leger were equipped the same as most other french…[Read more]

  • I like the house rule of … if down then they’re not in the way as they are on the ground trying not to be hit
    If they are in the way (model height + 1″ as per normal) and the roll to hit fails by 1 (ie soft cover mod) then that counts as a hit against the unit in the way :p

     

  • Load More