Mixed formation skirmishers and moral saves
May 17, 2021 at 10:40 am #185512
A unit in mixed formation, and the skirmoshers take a hit from musketry. If the main body is in attack column do the skirmishers get the moral save benefit?May 17, 2021 at 12:25 pm #185516Big AlParticipant
No. You are shooting at the skirmishers who are in Open Order and already enjoy all of the benefits of that formation. You can’t have it both ways!May 17, 2021 at 12:53 pm #185519
Thank youMay 17, 2021 at 4:13 pm #185520MikeParticipant
Agree with Al.
If you read the section on mixed formation (pg 90, I believe). Mixed formation taking “small arms” hits (musketry/archers, etc) to its front quarter with deployed skirmishers is treated as a “skirmish target” in all respects. But cannon fire as well as any fire hitting the unit from other quarters treat the unit as as either a column or line depending on the “parent” formation in all respects.May 17, 2021 at 4:51 pm #185524
Thanks both. Looking forward to getting some games in now that lockdown has eased. Currently have 4.5 battalions and a gun battery painted. Just need top paint the first cavalry unit to have a nice starter army ready!July 20, 2021 at 7:11 pm #185907Garry WillsParticipant
Sorry but I have to disagree, the rules specifically say that the -1 to hit as a skirmish target is applied. Nowhere in the rules does it say the mixed formations are treated as skirmish targets ‘in all respects’. If it was intended that the morale save did not apply we would hope that Rick would have said so. Obviously people can play this anyway they choose but lets be clear about what the rules actually say.July 20, 2021 at 9:00 pm #185908Big AlParticipant
Yes, Garry, that is correct. It only gets the benefits of skirmishers when shot at to the front.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.