Close ranks – who’s eligible
February 22, 2021 at 5:42 pm #184474skh25Participant
Seem this come up a lot, particularly regarding units in with phalanx special rule. Can those units utilize close ranks. I would assume they would, where warbands in the 4 rank formation without phalanx rule would not. Can we clear this up for good from the staff… thanks0March 2, 2021 at 12:00 pm #184639arcoleParticipant
Look at page 66. Close ranks can only be used by heavy infantry equiped with a shield. It is nothing to do with the Phalanx rule, and can be used by heavy infantry in a 2 deep line (e.g. Roman Legionaries). Warbands are medium infantry (at least I am not aware of any heavy infantry warbards), and as such cannot close ranks.0March 24, 2021 at 3:24 pm #185070Big AlParticipant
Spot on, Arcole! Absolutely right. The rules state quite clearly which troops can close ranks.0
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.