Clarification for playing Motorcycle troop correctly.

Home Forums Historical Bolt Action Clarification for playing Motorcycle troop correctly.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    HellRaiser 7
    Participant

I just this pass week I started playing a motorcycle unit after not playing them for awhile. Several years ago I played French and German motorcycles when I was running Early War Campaigns. I have forgotten most of the rules .  Just recently saw the addition of Engineer Section with the Option to ride motorcycles which can now be used in the Free French Army  out of the Battle of the Bulge book. (This Engineer section first appeared in the Battle of France Campaign book and is part of the Reenforced Platoon and Battle of the Bulge list).
    Here’s how we’ve interpreted the motorcycle rules and please if we don’t have it right, please give us the right answer.

i understand the motorcycle can advance 12” and run 24 “

They make as many turns as they want to include point in any direction they want to be at after completing their move.
    when shooting at a mounted motorcycle I’m assuming you just use the same rules as engaging any other infantry squad. But once you hit, do you use the soft vehicle wound of a 6 and then go to the vehicle damage chart , or do you use the riders wound, which if it was a Veteran unit you would just wound on a 5, and the motorcycle and rider would be removed . That’s how we played, we just used the riders quality (ie: Veteran) to determine the wound. Did we play that correctly?