Chargeing when the target unit is not in front of the unit leader

Home Forums Historical Hail Caesar Chargeing when the target unit is not in front of the unit leader

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #173049
    arcole
    Participant

    Ok, you have a unit, which wishes to charge. When the order is given, the target does not lie in front of the units leader (as page 55).

    When do you adjudicate the ability to charge? If the target is not in front of the chargers leader, must they position themselves this turn so that they can charge next turn, or can they use multiple moves this turn to first position themselves, then charge?

    Thanks in advance

    A.

    0
    #173050
    Big Al
    Participant

    You can use one of the moves earned by your command roll to make the appropriate adjustment to charge. A typical example of this is given in the rules for Sweeping Advance. Of course, for that you have to roll for disorder, which you don’t when using one of the three moves, but it is the same principle – the unit has to turn to face the enemy unit that it wants to charge into. The conditions are the same, though – Proximity could prevent alignment.
    As explained in the rules, a unit does not have to be in a position where it can see the enemy when a charge order is given. Once the order is given, the unit makes up to three moves in which the target enemy must come into view and in line with your unit leader.

    Hope that helps.

    0
    #173051
    arcole
    Participant

    Thank You.

    Happy new year all!

    0
    #173057
    Big Al
    Participant

    Happy New year to you, too!

    0
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.