Base/Stand Sizes?

Home Forums Historical Hail Caesar Base/Stand Sizes?

Tagged: 

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Mehman
    Participant

It’s probably no surprise when I tell you that I’m new to historical gaming based on this question. Each model having its own base is what I’m used to – it gives me comfort. This business of having four men to a stand, for example, amazes and confuses me.

Even after having read the Hail Caesar rulebook, especially the part on basing several times, I’m still confused on the subject. Looking at the pictures in it and the Shieldwall supplement, it seems that Warbands have four rows made of two 40x40mm stands deep. In the middle, there sit the unit leader and standard bearer in the front row and, I assume, the musician is behind those two. So that leaves those three plus a normal warrior on separate 20x20mm bases, correct? (That’s what it says in the rule book, but I like to make sure.)

Hopefully the example above made sense. I know it says in the Hail Caesar rulebook that basing is fairly free and breezy, but I want to do what others are used to doing.

Also, I think my General and his Commanders will be on round bases instead of squares. They get to be special!

Graham
    Participant

It works good my Romans have 4 bases 40×40 per unit my Briton warbands. I just have one big base 160mm wide with about 30 figures in roughly 4 ranks .they are a lot easier to move and don’t roll around in the box when transported.

Deadmanwade
    Participant