30 Years War French army 1636-1643

Home Forums Historical Pike & Shotte 30 Years War French army 1636-1643

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Tatertron
    Participant

Good afternoon all.

I am new to Historical war gaming. I’m loving the setting of the 30 Years Wars, and I have just purchased The Devils Playground supplement and the Imperial Army Deal box set.

For my next purchase I’m looking to build a French army. I want my commanders to be the the 3 musketeers (not historical, but fun as hell). I’m having a hard time finding models to accurately represent the troops. The core book on page 190, 191 and 195 under War of The Sun King has pictures of french troops, but I cant seem to find those models in the Web Store. Also, as that’s 60 years after the time peroid i want to build my army for, I skeptical they would be accurate for the period.

If anyone has any advice on how to build this army I’d sure appreciate it.

invisible officer
    Participant

Hmm, there are very good French soldiers available for early Louis XIV time. Including the Musketeers.  Google for  1672 . Infantry still with pikes and no bayonets like in TYW.   I did a larger French force (and 1672 Dutch, Spanish, Austrian  and English) and like them a lot.

A certain Nottingham company did some French TYW foot long ago, I have no idea if a blister is available today.

Charge The Guns
    Participant