Hedgehog formation

Home Forums Historical Pike & Shotte Hedgehog formation

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
  • #148308
    Javier Moncholí

    Hi all, we are testing the Pike and Shotte rules in our local game club and a question about forming a hedgehog arised.

    Page 80 of the ruleset says that a hedhehog can be formed as a response to a charge (needing a successful command roll) or during the Command phase, no roll needed (as far as I can read). But page 38, in the Proximity of Enemy section, says that once there is an enemy within 12 inches ‘even the most basic manoeuvres is considered to be impaired… units must move roughly straight forward or straight back’.

    So the question is, can hedhehog be formed with enemy units within 12 inches?



    Hi Javier

    The proximity rule applies to movement vis-a-vis facing – so a hedgehog is a charge reaction that can be attempted even if within 12″ since you end up facing the enemy.

    Charge The Guns

    Just to add to Corso’s comment.

    Hedgehog is formation change. In your turn you can act on initiative to form Hedgehog, or you can use a successful Command role to form a hedgehog. You can also try and form hedgehog as a charge reaction (see page 65) in your opponent’s turn, but you have to pass a Command Test to do it.

    Not that you cannot move out of hedgehog if there are enemy cavalry within 6 inches.

    The 12″ proximity restriction is to stop units ‘crabbing’ sideways when close to the enemy.

    Hope that helps, and let us know how you get on with your Pike and Shotte games 🙂

    Javier Moncholí

    So, apart from a charge reaction, it is a formation change and can be done with enemy within 12″. Thank you very much! Two games in the club so far and we are still getting used to the rules, fun games although we have doubts about units being independent from each other, but that is for another thread 🙂

    Thank you for your fast responses and regards,


    Tomasz Rejf

    Hello. Does hedgehog formation fight cavalry with all pikemen and musketeer bonuses? that is, the HtH dice of the pikemen x2, plus the HtH dice of the musketeers (15dice). Of course in the first round of the fight.

    Tomasz Rejf

    Ok i found the answer in the special rules 🙂 “Pike element of the hedgehog receive double combat
    value against charging cavalry”

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.