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Frequently Asked Questions

I After religiously adhering to the rule that disorder means a unit can't move, we noticed a few situations where
this is not true. For example, following combat in some instances, and in the case of broken brigades where a
disordered unit can fall back voluntarily. This has led some of us to wonder if the intent was always to let
disordered units pull back on initiative to avoid being 'stuck’ in front of another round of firing and probably
getting disordered again, etc.

The general rule is that disordered units can’t be given orders and can’t use their initiative to move automatically in the
Command part of the turn. To be brutally short (careful Sawyer...) the idea is the unit ‘misses a move’ — although we also apply
‘to hit’ penalties for shooting and hand-to-hand fighting, as well as a result penalty on break tests, just to make things interesting.
The rule doesn’t stop units moving in other parts of the turn — and often units are obliged to move following hand-to-hand
combat or shooting, or they might have a chance to do so if they are victorious in combat. So, I'm afraid the bad news is that
getting stuck in front of the enemy is part and parcel of our game and not an oversight on my part! The rule that allows units
from broken brigades to retreat — and obliges them to do so if within 12" of the enemy — is an exception to the general rule that
we found helps to settle the end game. You are quite right in saying it is an exception.

Z The diagram at the bottom of page 60 shows a blue unit moving into contact with two red units in a line
formation. It ends up corner to corner with one unit. Am I right in saying that this unit in corner-to-corner
would not count as being engaged as less than half of its front is covered and therefore cannot use closing fire
or attack, but just adds support into the combat?

Yes that is exactly right! The unit won’t fight in the combat but can support. It can’t make any response to the charge —which
includes forming square, counter-charging, and closing fire. In these situations we find it a good idea to separate the units
slightly to make it more apparent that the unit isn’t engaged.

3 We had been playing that disorder markers came off the turn after disorder happens as the rule on page 48
states A unit that becomes disordered remains disordered until the end of its following turn...’. However,
watching the Perry’s demonstrate the game recently we noticed that they always removed the disordered
markers at the end of the player’s turn regardless of when the disorder was inflicted. Which is correct?

At the end of each side’s turn all that side’s disorder markers are removed apart from units still engaged in combat and units
from broken brigades. So, Alan and Michael were correct to remove the disorder markers at the end of their turn. The rules for
disorder are given as part of the rules for shooting — so they brashly assume we are talking about disorder resulting from enemy
shooting. Hence ‘following turn’ is intended to refer to the other side’s turn. Bearing in mind that disorder can occur at other
points in the game, the sentence should read, 4 unit that becomes disordered remains disordered until the end of its owom turn...". (Note
that this correction has been included in subsequent printings of the rulebook).

one gun model represents approx 4-6 guns and a battalion gun represents 2, then would it be correct to shoot 1
dice above close range and 2 dice as close range, or would it be better to include them as part of the unit and
just throw an extra dice counting as artillery?

! What is the best way of handling battalion guns in the game? I am mainly thinking of the Seven Years War. If

In our own games we don'’t field battalion guns unless the battle features some kind of attack/defence where a gun can be
emplaced, or where a gun is needed to winkle the enemy from a defended position. In those cases we’d represent it with a model
and use whatever the Seven Years War seemed to fit — 2-1-1 would do nicely for a very small weapon. However, it all depends
on the scale of the action and how you want to represent things as well as on how many guns you happen to have painted up

Some of our players asked why there is no reduction in the firing ability of troops if they move. We just
wondered why not?

It is assumed a turn allows sufficient real time for considerable movement including assembling a firing line and shooting several
times where opportunity permits. The time represented by a turn isn’t fixed — or even constant — but we imagine it to be
sufficient for troops to both move and shoot without compromise. In game terms it also encourages movement — or rather it
does not overtly favour a static defence — giving the game something of its sweep. Which we rather enjoy!
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Frequently Asked Questions

In hand-to-hand combat, if the victorious unit receives casualties in excess of the troops’ Stamina value what
happens to these casualties? Does the unit need to take a break test, or — as they won the engagement — are
the extra casualties ignored?

The unit that wins the combat simply discards all casualties in excess of its Stamina value and no break test is required.

How do you handle detaching light companies from infantry battalions.

If you mean to form a skirmishing screen then we use the mixed formation rules. If you mean to form separate bodies — then
we’d represent them with units of the appropriate size. The same would go for 18th century grenadiers — where grenadier
companies from different regiments can form separate battalions.

Artillery suffer a -1 to hit penalty for shooting at over half range, but there isn’t an equivalent penalty for
infantry firing. This seems a bit harsh for the poor gunners! We wonder why the penalty wasn’t also applied
to other shooting?

Our rules for artillery did go through several phases of development before we got it right — and part of that was to make sure
the guns didn’t dominate the battlefield unduly. In reality, long range artillery fire was more ‘annoying’ than decisive, and that’s
the feeling we aimed to represent. In the end we found that applying a penalty at over half-range worked very well because it
mstantly differentiates between guns of different types, and it ensures that long range shooting is useful but rarely decisive.
Combined with this — we allow artillery to pick targets at over half range — which has two effects: firstly it allows for bombarding
selected enemy formations as they assemble, and secondly it permits you to concentrate fire if you wish. The penalty for shooting
at over half range means we can allow concentrated fire within reason without it becoming unrealistically effective.

If two or more units charge one enemy unit using their initiative, do they do it simultaneously or one at a
time. If simultaneously, how is closing fire calculated? Similarly, is it possible to ‘brigade order’ two units to
charge simultaneously, and if so how is closing fire worked out?

In most cases the mechanics of the game assume units move one after the other — even where in reality movement would be
simultaneous. So, where two units are using initiative to charge an enemy, move one unit and then the other. It’s actually quite
rare to get situations where two units can both charge into the (say) front of an enemy because the rules oblige the first
charger to cover the maximum portion of the enemy’s frontage. In situations where it does happen, closing fire is discharged
against the first unit according to the rules — but this is a good case for judgement. If you have an umpire he may very
reasonably ask you to divide fire. When giving orders, again it is usual to choose one of the units in receipt of orders and
move it first, then the other. Where two units are ordered to charge a common enemy it is perfectly reasonable for one to end
up engaged whilst the other supports — the supporting unit will be following its order as closely as it can.

Imagine you have a brigade of 4 cavalry regiments. If the first 2 are ordered to charge can the other two
(behind, for example) move up in support on the same order or must they be given different orders.

The rule is simply that you have to give the same order to the whole group and the group has to end up without any units
separated by more than 6". Exactly how you frame orders is up to you. Amongst a group of friends it shouldn’t be too hard to
reach a level of mutual understanding that all players are satistied with. When we play we certainly allow a brigade of several
units to charge with one order even though not all the units are able to engage — units unable to engage interpret the charge
order to move into support. This is fulfilling the order as closely as possible. In situations where this is likely to happen a
typical order might be, “This cavalry brigade will charge these enemy — the front two regiments will engage these foot
regiments, and those behind will support from the rear.’

A small unit of rifles were holding a farm (8" square). It was attacked by 2 assault columns on one face. It
was argued that as only one standard unit could occupy the farm how could 2 units attack it? We allowed the
attack but only one unit followed up and occupied the farm. Correct?

Yes correct! So long as there was enough space for both assault columns to get in (which sounds about right) then both fight -
but only one unit can occupy the farm.
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Frequently Asked Questions

A unit of cavalry charged a gun taking 2 casualties. The gun was destroyed and the cavalry halted on the
spot ready to charge next turn. The British ordered a unit of infantry to advance against the face (ie, within
the charge arc) to within 3" of the cavalry and deliver a volley. This caused 2 casualties and the cavalry
failed their morale test for shaken badly and were a 'pick up'. This caused much discussion about the
rightness of such a manoeuvre as some players felt it was not historic to the period. What’s your opinion?

There’s nothing in the rules that prevents an infantry battalion manoecuvring to shoot at a body of cavalry in the way you
suggest — you could make a case either way. On the one hand here you have a cavalry unit milling around post-combat and
plainly in the act of reforming and obviously shot up and exhausted — it could have retired to a safe position following
combat but deliberately chose not to do so. Ergo — the cavalry deserved all they got! On the other hand here is a cavalry unit
reforming and readying for further action, suddenly an enemy infantry regiment steams half way across the field to within a
hair’s breadth of the horse and lets them have it! Surely — infantry would never dare approach enemy horse in this brazen
way because the cavalry would either attack them or avoid them! If you take the latter view I'd suggest allowing the cavalry
to react as soon as the enemy approached within close fire range (6”) either evading and avoiding the fire, or charging and
taking closing fire before combat.

A unit with the form square special rule has to form square if charged, and it must take a test to see if it
forms square successfully. Does this test only apply to units with this rule, as they are forming square
whilst the charge takes place — I assume it does not apply to units forming square in other circumstances as
they would be doing this during the Command part of their turn?

You are correct — the test is only needed where a unit that is not already in a square is charged. Only units with the ‘form
square’ rule can react in this way so only they need to test.

If a unit fails its test to form square by throwing double six then it forms a disordered square. Cavalry can
charge home on a disordered square, but can they opt not to do so in the same way as cavalry charging a
square that is not disordered?

The cavalry have to obey their orders in so far as they can — so if the square is disordered they have to charge home. Failure to
do so would be an act of the most despicable cowardice, and one has to ask whether you are really cut out for a military career.

An infantry unit is charged by cavalry and forms square. The cavalry are unable to charge home and ride
back. An infantry battalion now charges the same square. Can the square shoot closing fire at the infantry —
or is it unable to deliver closing fire because it has been charged by cavalry?

By the letter of the rules the square can shoot at the infantry — the cavalry charge and the infantry form square as a
response, the infantry are now in square and can shoot closing fire as a response to the enemy infantry. Given that closing
fire from a single face of a square is 1 dice it seems a little mean to deny them it — but the umpire might consider imposing a
discretionary ‘to hit’ penalty.

Once enemy are within 12" units are only allowed to move into their front or rear quarters — not into their
side quarters. However, does this restriction allow the unit to change its orientation, or does it have to
remain facing the same way as it moves? We ask because our players automatically assumed the latter,
arguing that otherwise it is too easy to move round flanks or between enemy units.

There 1s no further restriction intended — so long as the unit finishes its move wholly within its own front or rear quarter
then it can move anyway you wish. We’ve never had the problem you suggest — although were we to do so I would say that
your alternative is a good response. You would then have to allow for a separate order to change facing — as otherwise it
would be altogether impossible to move round an exposed flank.

If a unit has a Stamina value of 3 and suffers 3 casualties is it ‘shaken’ or does it become shaken only once it
has suffered a fourth casualty?

Once a unit has suffered casualties equal to its Stamina value it is ‘shaken’.
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Ig The Quick Reference Sheet (QRS) states that a break test is required for units suffering artillery casualties
from closing fire (b. Test if Shaken or suffering artillery casualties from closing fire). Because the best
result that cavalry can get from such a test is ‘retire’ this makes it practically impossible for cavalry to
charge home onto artillery (they would have to suffer zero casualties from 3 shots per cannon requiring 3+
to hit and -2 saves).

This 1s a case of a rule being added a little late in the day and not quite being explained properly. Originally we had things
arranged so that only Shaken units tested — and this works well enough. After a while we felt that units taking artillery
casualties on the way in — but not being Shaken — should also have to test their resolve to see if they charged home. What we
failed to make clear is that this test should be taken using the Shooting results on the Break Test, and not the Hand-to-Hand
results as you would for a Shaken unit. As the testing unit would have charged into position at the point the test is made, a
result of ‘unit holds its ground” means that the charge is successfully completed and the charger and artillery are engaged in
combat. With the usual -1 modifier for artillery casualties this means a test score of 7 or better will see the unit charge home
successfully.

Some players do prefer to use more artillery that we typically might — and the relatively narrow frontage of artillery pieces
does make closing fire from massed guns even more effective than reality would suggest. Where a unit charges onto multiple
guns we’d recommend allowing only a single gun to shoot closing fire — this is plenty dangerous enough without making such
attacks suicidal.
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