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Comments highlighted in yellow are group suggestions not written rules

Questions in blue have had the answers changed.

Is this the full rules? If not when are they released

No, the Battle of the Pacific is a slimmed down starter rules. Warlord Twitch show has mentioned November
as a possible release date.

How does Deep Deployment work?

Deep deployment (4 scouting points) allows you to place the carrier model off the table. It does not affect
how many flights you the player can deploy, that can only be done by Scouting points. —This has been
confirmed by the games author.

Can | recover and rearm my flights if my carrier is in deep deployment?

This is not covered in the rule manual, however feedback from the authors is that no you can’t recover and
rearm flights on a carrier in deep deployment.

This is due to the distances from the battle to the carrier and the time it takes to rearm the flights.
So how many flights can | deploy at once?

You may deploy 2 flights from each carrier as Combat Air Patrol and any flights you have purchased
individually in your list as standard.

If you have 7 or more scouting points then you may deploy up to half (rounding up) of the available flights
from each carrier instead of the 2 Combat air patrol flights

If you have 10 or more scouting points then you may deploy every flight available from each carrier in your list.
How do I get flights with my Carrier? And how does this affect Victory points?
When you purchase a carrier in your list it comes with the maximum number of flights listed on the card.

You may choose any mix of flights that are carrier capable that have a commissioned date of or prior to the
year you have chosen for your game. Its not written in the quick start rules if you need to decide prior to
launch, however we suggest that you decided when writing your list.

Victory points for the flights are awarded per flight destroyed at the cost you would have paid if purchased.
Any flight not launched if the carrier is destroyed do not award VP. The carrier awards VP as a normal ship.
Yes it means a carrier can give up more points than its value.

Can I run some flights as observation planes?

No, observation planes are only those provided by the Aircraft X trait



How does AA work?

During the flights movement phase, if a flight is moved over a ships model then that ship my use its ‘Local X’
AD. This can happen as many times as flights pass over a ship

At the start of the Gunnery phase all ships fire their AA battery, adding the AD from light Guns with the DP trait
if they want, at flights within range. Although not stated we suggest that starting with the player with priority
you alternate firing ships if more than one is in range. Any AD may not be used more than 1 in this phase.

Don’t forget that lights guns can either be used as AA or to target other ships and may not split between the
two.

How does Restricted & DP combine?

If a weapon system has both DP & Restricted then both rules apply. So you will normally be using % of the
light guns dice in the left or right arc or half dice in the front or rear.

If I have 3 more negative modifiers than positive how do | hit?
There is nothing in the rules for a 7+ to hit, therefore if you need a 7 or more your shot automatically misses.
Can | damage the Yamoto with a Portland cruiser at close range?

Yes, as any roll of a 6 to damage from your main turrets (which don’t have the ‘weak’ trait) gives you a chance
to roll a 4+ for a crit. So whilst you wont do the normal single point of damage you have a chance of causing a
critical effect.

How does Devastating Crits work?

Unlike normally gunnery & the heavy trait you do not need a 4+ to confirm a crit hit. If you roll a natural 5 or 6
to hit then after applying damage you roll a D10 & a D6 for every natural 5 & 6 you rolled. The D10 is for the
crit area and the D6 is the level. If the level you roll is LOWER than what the ship already has then the crit is
discarded. If the D6 is EQUAL or HIGHER than the ship has, then all the effects are applied.

How does the Japanese Torpedo fan rule work?

Each eligible ship may use all the AD of all their torpedoes, if one-shot OR the first load if they have the slow
loading trait to roll a single D6 at the start of the game. If this D6 is a 6 then a random ship takes a 3 DD
devastating hit.

Eg if the Japanese player has 2 Fubuki Destroyers upgraded to Type 93 torpedoes and a Mogami Cruiser they
can roll between 0 and 2 dice for the Destroyers. For each dice they roll for the Destroyers one will uses all 3 of
their Torpedo weapon systems. If the player adds a third dice for the Cruiser all four torpedo systems will
become one-shot for that game.

How do refits work?

You apply all the refits up to the year your writing your list to for the name of your ship.
For example, a Kongo class battlecruiser can apply either the Kongo or the Haruna’s refits.
If you want to apply a 1945 refit you need to first add the 1943 & 1944 ones

What is the points value of the Bismark?

Feedback from the design studio is that the cards are correct for both the Bismark & the New Mexico. The
stats in the rules manual are a ‘preview’ and were reviewed after the manual was printed.




