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RULES QUERIES 
Heroes in combat. How are hits or wounds 
allocated to heroes when they are part of a unit? 
Change the first bullet point on page 12 from: 
Every model in both the attacking unit and enemy 
unit makes a Melee check with each Melee Dice it 
possesses. 

To: 
Every model in both the attacking unit and enemy 
unit that is in base contact with an enemy model 
makes a Melee check with each Melee Dice it 
possesses. A model’s attacks can only be allocated to 
a model it is in base contact with (so, models not in 
contact with a Hero cannot allocate attacks on to 
him – models in contact with a Hero can, or they 
can allocate their attacks to other models instead if 
they are also in contact with those). 

Mercenary Hoplites are allowed to form Phalanx 
with five or more figures – however Phalanx 
requires at least two ranks of five as per page 22-
23. Is this a special rule for Mercenary Hoplites? 
No, follow normal Phalanx rules. 

Dual weapon fighting; do such troops lose the 
shield or can they choose to retain the shield and 
two  weapons and choose the optimum 
combination for each circumstance? Follow on – 
if dual wielding 2 swords do you get two parries – 
one for each? 
In melee, they lose the shield. Two swords equals 
two Parries – part of the point in having two. 

Dacian falxmen start with shields and a two-
handed weapon. No options to change. How does 
that work? 
They gain the benefits of shields when being shot at, 
but switch to the two-handed weapon in melee. 

Rules state a unit using two close combat 
weapons obviously cannot use a shield. (dual 
weapon fighting - page 17). Is that only while dual 
wielding, or mean they can’t have them at all? 
We’ve got a player trying to dual wield on his 
turn and use his shields on his opponent’s turn. I 
for one feel this is exploitative and think anyone 
who attacks with two weapons then tries to strap 
on a shield during a counterattack in the same 
melee would be easily dispatched while putting 
the shield back on. 
He can use the shield when the arrows come in, but 
this is not really how close combat works in real life.  
See the previous Dacian Falxmen question. 

Can multiple druids simply kill an opposing 
hero by removing all his wounds using Druid 
Blight? 
No, one curse is enough for anyone (but the Druidic 
Circle scenario on page 111 has an exception). 

Wild Charge: Is this bonus once per game (initial 
charge) or every charge? 
Every charge. Enjoy. 

Gauls with Wild Charge and a Druid re-rolling 
misses. The Roman unit with shields forces a re-
roll of hits. Do the Gauls get to re roll misses on 
this forced reroll? 
Page 3, a dice can only be re-rolled once. So, no. In 
effect, the Gauls will re-roll misses while the 
Romans re-roll successful hits – so all dice get re-
rolled once. 

Very Long rule, “However, if the enemy wins a 
round of close combat...” (Pg 19): How is a winner 
of a “round” of close combat determined? 
Assume if one side causes more Wounds than the 
other, it wins the combat. 

Pila – does the pila work against Wild Charge? 
Good question. Yes – the Pila will remove the bonus 
for Charging as detailed on page 17. The Wild 
Charge still gets its effect. 

Compulsory Movement on page 8 – what 
happens when the units move is blocked? 
Go round the obstacle. Do what is sensible – so, if a 
unit is trying to get away from an enemy, it will try 
to move as far away as it can. 

Minions (infantry or cavalry) are supposed to 
come in groups of 5-30 models. However, does 
this apply to elephants? (Which are cavalry 
minions). 
Elephants are an exception to this rule and can be 
taken on their own. 

Does a unit not wearing armour receive an 
Armour check when hit in either ranged or 
melee combat? 
Yes, all models can attempt an Armour check – you 
can assume they have some makeshift armour, thick 
clothing or just plain dodge out of the way! 
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Do you need to have a LoS for target of your 
Melee action (at least to a part of the model)? 
Being more straightforward: can you attack a 
unit which is completely obscured (for example: 
behind a high wall)? 
You can poke a spear through a big hedge but 
ramming it through a tall wall? No.  
In short, do what is sensible here and use common 
sense. This will not come up too often but a model 
still needs a feasible way to attack an enemy. 

Big but cowardly – page 153. If an elephant loses a 
quarter of its remaining wounds it has to make a 
bravery check. If it fails it must flee combat next 
turn. Does it lose a number of wounds by how 
much it fails and does the enemy unit get the free 
hack next turn for a unit fleeing combat. 
No, the elephant just turns and runs (I wouldn’t 
argue with one…). 

Horselord Talents can be used by any ‘cavalry’ 
type hero and affects any unit that is also cavalry 
type. Rules as written therefore mean these work 
on elephants. Elephant cantabrian circle 
anyone?  
There is no reason that someone cannot become an 
‘Elephantlord’. 
An Elephant Talent tree though? that has potential. 
Seriously, that Talent tree will be given proper 
consideration… 

When a unit with a mixed profile is formed, as 
with the case of British war dogs with tribesmen 
or any unit with a hero attached to it, and a 
situation calls for the unit to make a single test, 
such as a Bravery test (but specifically not a Will 
to Fight test as the rules cover that already), what 
bonus does the mixed profile unit use? 
Use the option with the highest stat. 

Will to fight is referred to as a “will to fight 
check” but use the bravery score. Some in my 
group take “bravery check” to be any check using 
the bravery score, some other games would use 
wording like “will to fight check” and “bravery 
check” to show these are not the same thing. 
Which interpretation is it in this case? 
Will to Fight is a specific term, even though it uses 
Bravery. Don’t mix them up. 

Are charging models able to pivot before moving 
straight to their enemy? 
Yes. Remember, aside from some very specific 
circumstances, there is no facing in SPQR. 

Can a unit move into close combat with an 
enemy unit, class it as a Charge, if even one of the 
models in the attacking unit cannot move at 
least 3”? Is Charging the act of moving at least 3” 
into close combat in a straight line? 
To gain the charge bonus detailed on page 17, every 
model in the unit must be able to move at least 3” in 
a straight line towards the enemy unit, regardless of 
whether they all make it into contact with an enemy 
model. 

EQUIPMENT QUERIES 
Macedonian Psiloi only pay 1pt for javelins on 
page 151? 
Yes. 

Leather, helmet, and animal skin have the same 
values but different denarii cost – is this 
intentional? 
It is – the spread of warbands they are available to 
differs. 

Sacred Band of Thebes has Spear listed in its 
profile (page 185). But what kind? I would 
assume its long but it’s not specified.  
The Sacred Band are armed with Long Spears. 
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Greek Mercenary Hoplites (page 193) are the only 
unit in the game to have 0 bravery. Also their 
armour value is wrong at 0 since they come in 
Linothorax.  
Should have Bravery +1 and Armour +2. 

Praetorian Guard have move 5”. They are in 
Lorica armour so should that actually be 6”? 
It should be 6”. 

Susages is listed as  on page 
98 as having Scale Armour 
but 0 Armour bonus  
Thieving Susages!  
He should have no 
equipment at all. 

Hetairoi armour; they are mounted in 
Linothorax so should they be +3 not +2? 
Agreed, should be +3. 

Can I buy a single Pilum for my legionaries and 
gain its benefit? 
No, the whole unit must be equipped with Pila to 
gain the effect. 

WORDING QUERIES 
On page 27 it states “+1 hits when mounted” – is 
this +1 Wounds? 
Yes, it is +1 Wounds. 

Page 27  – Does the +1 armour bonus from buying 
a horse add to existing armour or just give +1 
armour to an unarmoured hero? Cavalry as 
listed with it tend to include the +1 hits as they 
all have 2 hits but don’t add to the armour unless 
they’re not wearing any. 
It adds to existing armour. 

Imperial Roman Auxiliary Cavalry (page 139) 
should have Wounds 2? 
Correct. 

Wording under hit and run for Peltasts on page 
151 says Psiloi not Peltast – is this incorrect? 
Peltasts get the Hit and Run rule. 

Irresistible Force scenario, special rules, first 
paragraph (Pg 178): “In which case it becomes a 
possession of the” What? Sentence ends there. 
“It becomes a possession of the enemy warband.” 

POINTS QUERIES 
Are points costs designed to be universal or can 
the same piece of kit cost different values to 
different factions or units? 
They can absolutely cost different amounts to 
different factions! Do not mix and match! 

How many Denarii should Theban Peltasts cost? 
7 Denarii. 

How much should Short Spears cost? 
In all cases, in all warbands, Short Spears can be 
purchased for 1 Denarius wherever a unit has the 
option. 


