Orlunu

Forum Replies Created

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #191380
    Orlunu
    Participant

    Am I blind, or is Germany missing the option for the B2 740(f) (gun tank, not flammpanzer)? The majority were kept as gun tanks, and it’s still sold as such on the webstore, so I feel like it really should be there but I’m not seeing it at all.

    #191100
    Orlunu
    Participant

    Oh, if that’s all one sentence then it’s a different matter entirely! Thanks for the help, I’ll excuse myself by saying that’s probably something that was much more obvious to someone familiar with the second edition rules.

    #191095
    Orlunu
    Participant

    Hi, just registered an account to ask people about a rules issue. I can’t find it being discussed before. Basically, the issue we’re running into as a few of us have started picking up BA is that we keep encountering problems where the Transport Vehicles & Tows rule in Force Selection (p.183)… doesn’t seem to work at all.

    “If a vehicle listed as a transport/tow picks a weapon option that means the transport loses its transport/towing ability. It no longer counts as a transport/tow for the purposes of force selection, but as […]. On the other hand, such a vehicle is no longer affected by the rule that makes transports subject to destruction for being closer to enemies than friends at the end of the turn.”

    Now, some of the obvious problems we’ve run into –
    First obvious one, German halftracks with the rear-mg option taken would lose transport capacity, but are portrayed in the rulebook as transporting. Is the error here just with the pictures and expectation? Well, probably no because…
    Some of their options are entirely useless if the above rule applies, such as when my opponent decided to bring the Sd.Kfz 250/4 option, which can only legally be used when a unit is being transported, while it seemingly legally can’t transport a unit…
    But it’s not just that implicit failure, as we also have weapon options which change transport capacities, such as the Sd.Kfz 251/1 command variant, which gives them a new unusable capacity…
    Or, worse, the Sd.Kfz 251/1 Panzerbüchse, which can only be taken if it’s a transport for engineers, and also can’t be taken as a transport for engineers, so just isn’t legal to field…
    Sooo, is it just that this rule only applies when a transport only takes an optional weapon, but not when it already comes pre-armed? Well, no, because the Fiat 665NM Protetto is just the same and doesn’t come with any weapon to start with either…
    And several of the obvious vehicles, jeeps and kübels and whatever, explicitly have the loss of transport status listed in the actual weapon option entry, which is weird as that’s a universal rule…
    (etc)

    So, yeah, unless we’ve been reading it completely wrong we can’t even see some caveat to add in to make this rule actually work. Currently we’re just pretending that it doesn’t exist and was an accidental leftover from v2 or something, and that seems to work just fine, but it seems odd that we can’t see this having been addressed at all if we’re reading it right and it’s fundamentally broken. People have been running tournaments and everything for a while now, so presumably there is a way this is being addressed, but none of us know what it is, or even whether everyone’s playing it differently from each other, was hoping you could let us know what everyone else is doing about it. Sorry if I’m being dense or this has already been addressed, but none of us could find it on a quick search.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)