Hi, I've just played my first couple of games of HC (have been playing BP for quite a while and have a good few P&S games under my belt too) and in both of them the same question cropped up to which we couldn't find an answer.
If infantry are hit in the flank (not simulaniously engaged from the front) but hold their ground at the end of the first round of combat, can they subsequently turn to face their enemy? In the absence of a definative answer we played that they remained engaged in the flank and could use up to half of their dice with the "engaged to flank" penalty.
Did we done good or did we done booboo
If there is a definative answer can someone give me the page ref rather than an "I think..."
Boy, it sure would be nice if we had some grenades, don't you think?
Yes they can. See page 68 of the BP rulebook under the section "After Combat", second section and page 73 "Units that Hold Their Ground, 4th paragraph. It is the same on Page 77 of P&S under the same heading. However, I can't find it in HC. In that book, there is a small paragraph in the break test section about a unit that holds its ground, but it doesn't mention turning to face. I would assume that it is the same, though. There is a lot more about giving ground and sweeping advances, but only about three lines on holding ground.
We're stalking you Andy. Be afraid. Be very afraid
I have had a detailed look at the HC book and there is no reference to turning to face if you hold ground. As the book is completely silent on this it would be reasonable to assume that you can't. As there as so many differences between the three sets of rules I don't think you can necessarily infer that just because it is possible in BP and P&S, it should be possible in HC. Combat is very diferent in HC.
Maybe there will be some 'official' rule support along in due course?
Just found the answer on the Yahoo Group. A unit fighting to its flank just stays as it is for the next round.....I'll let Rick explain here by quoting his post:-
"Re-reading the rules as they stand - I do think the rule is clear - if two units don't move following combat then they just remain where they are and combat continues in the next turn. It's the first sentence under Moves By Victorious Units on p78. If a unit is charged in the flank and yet manages to win, and the chargers hold their ground, then both units stay where they are. The flanked unit is still flanked - still fights with half attacks - but now counts as winning the combat and gets the +1 benefit for winning the combat. The defeated unit loses the benefit of charging - so the second round has tipped towards the defenders by 2 dice pips. To me that just represents the unit holding out - fighting back to back - successfully beating off the enemy's attacks but not managing to drive them away. It has won itself another chance. > > > > A draw would put the units in the same position but without the +1 to the defenders. More precarious. > > > > Of course, if the defenders won and the chargers were forced to give ground the defenders would be able to make a move - which would enable them to sort themselves out a bit. > > > > The question therefore becomes - I think - whether it is just that the defenders should be able to do no more than just stand there if they win and their enemy does not give ground. I must admit - working through the potential outcomes - it does not strike me as unjust or unrealistic that the combat should continue in the following round. Though I admit that does rather depend on what view you take about what is happening on the ground!"