Something that came up yesterday.
Blue has 3 infantery units in line and the form square rule. Red charges the middle unit with dragoons in line, 3 moves and only 30 inch away. The center unit forms square and succeeds. So the charge is no longer allowed.
Where does the cavalery stop. 3 inch before the square, or does it pass on the side and ends way behind the square with all the movement it has left, like shown in the Waterloo movie where they pass on all sides of the squares ?
Side questions if they pass on the side, ignore this if they have to stop in front of the square:
- do they split up to pass on both sides, and reform behind the square because they do not have enough space to pass in line (a gap of 7 inch), I once again think of the movie?
- if they pass on both sides, does the square has double traversing fire (1 on each side)?
In short how would you play this situation?