Can somebody please clarify the situation of excess casulties after combat for us.
We understand that the losers after a combat remove excess casulties after taking a break test.
However, the winners of the combat do not take a break test. So do their excess casulties stay?
However, elsewhere in the rules it states that excess casulties are irelavent except for combat resolution and are removed ( or words to that effect) which seems to indicate that the winners excess casulties also dissappear. However, we cannot find any confirmation statement to that effect.
Why we ask is that we are getting cavalry combats where the winners take 7 casulties, losers take a break test, retire drop to three casulties, recover one in the following move, then charge back with less casulties than the origional winner.
Sorry if this is answered elsewhere, but I could not find it if it is.
Yes it is right. However, a unit can't lose, fall back after a break test, lose its excess casualties and then another before charging back into combat. Why? Because, you can only give a single order to a unit and you can only remove a casualty marker if you give a "Rally Order" (which has to be the last order that the commander gives) and you can't charge on a "Rally" order.
Yes, you could be right. It depends on how you read the wording as it has been written. Still worth pointing out, though, seeing as they appear to have been playing it wrongly. They now have all options covered.
Sorry, Chris, didn't mean to make it sound condescending there by talking about you in the third person. I was only referring to your group and your last game.