Hi folks, clear this one up for me pls.
In a recent game a French cavalry division charged a Dutch infantry division who all formed square successfully. Frenchy trots off leaving one unit of horsemen within 12 inches of all the Dutch. The rules seem to suggest infantry cant come out of square if enemy horse within 12 inches. This caused a whole division being trapped in squares for four turns simply because the dragoon unit stayed put and the Dutch were unlucky with their shooting dice. 2800 foot cowering in square for 4 turns from 240 dragoons?? Is this a correct interpretation.
Also... Do you / should you get a bonus for shooting agains those nice tightly packed squares (I interpreted it as yes and gave a plus one to hit). Horse arty are so much fun at canister range