I was looking at the 1,000 points starter armies on offer and boym they do look pretty.... then one thought occurred to me: I am under the impression that the British list is actually illegal. In the list as given on the offer, both the light mortar and a medium mortar are included, while I seem to have gathered that the two are mutually exclusive within a single platoon. Am I mistaken?
Vanth "...there are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in thyne philosophy..."
Well, I suppose that it is if you are choosing a force consisting of a single Reinforced Platoon. However, if you field two, then it will fit in perfectly well. These rules don't allow the HQ to carry a light mortar. Normally my HQ has a 2" mortar and the platoon can still take a medium one as support, but that is for a different ruleset.
You might be right, Dave, but there's quite a while before the British lists are released. If it is there just to make up numbers, it is a complete waste of time. I wouldn't bother with the light mortar, myself. They're ok for a bit of smoke but pretty ineffective. Still, it's a choice and if you're playing smaller games, like 750 points, it gives you options. That's one of the things about buying a complete army off the shelf, you get things that you wouldn't normally bother with.