apologies if this question is an oldy, or already answered elsewhere.
P&S indicates in the section on woods that there is no Line of Sight within woods. Units lining the edge of woods can shoot and be shot at. Also, one is not permitted to enter woods unless in skirmish formation. Questions:
1. Can a formed unit charge a unit in skirmish formation lining the edge of the woods? Or do they need to change into skirmish formation to fight the unit lining the edge? In other words, do they need to "enter" the woods to effect the charge or not?
2. I have a unit in skirmish order in woods. An enemy unit in skirmish order is also in the woods. However, the rules as written say there is zero line of sight in the woods. How are these units allowed to fight, if at all? Can you move up until you are in contact and then have LoS and charge or shoot?
There is an inherent problem with zero LoS in woods, being that if two enemy units are one micron apart, they still can't see each other.
Any clarification appreciated. We don't need "gentlemanly suggestions" as altho we are not gentlemen, we've over 100 years of gaming experience behind us as a group, and can think of plenty of solutions. We're looking for "Rules as Written" clarity, if there is any.