Is there a difference between a line infantry unit that goes into skirmish order and a unit that has the "skirmishers" designation? Do all of the shooting and hand to hand modifiers apply to both?
How do others play the mechanics of line infantry entering and exiting the woods? We mainly play AWI. We understand the rules to say that line infantry can only go into skirmish order to move through woods and can only move through woods in skirmish order. So, does a line infantry unit outside of a woods have to have two moves so that it can move into the woods - one to assume skirmish order and one to move into the woods? What if it rolls only one move? Would it go into skirmish order? Then, on the next turn. if it decided not to go into the woods it would have to use it's first move to go back into line as it could not then stay in skirmish order?
Just interested in hearing how others handle this.