We played our first game of black powder and despite having to check the rulebook constantly as we had no familiarity with the rules we really had a freest game which actually reached a conclusion. Fantastic.
During the game I made a lis of query points and I've been able to work through most. One issue however still confuses me. Basically I when a unitis charged by another unit there doesn't seem to be any requirement for them to take break test regardless of circumstances. During our game an artillery battery which was shaken was charged in the rear by a unit of cavalry. It seemed that, unless the player opted for the unit to retreat they could stand their ground albeit they got mashed up in the hand to had combat.
Am I being thick or is this the way the rules play out? Can anyone help?